Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Non-Canon Ships

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is our top 5 favourite non-canon ships. I don’t often ship non-canon relationships because I generally just ship characters with who the author wants them to be with. But I do have a few couple that I love together but unfortunately weren’t to be.

 


the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater

1.) Blue and Noah from the The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue and Noah are my favourite characters in this series. Noah is such an underappreciated character, he’s so precious and I love his relationship with Blue. Blue does a great job of looking out for him and understanding him in a way that none of the other characters can. There was a certain moment in the second book, The Dream Thieves, that made me believe that these two should be together.


city_of_bones2.) Clary and Isabelle from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

I never used to ship these two characters. I liked Clary and Isabelle’s friendship but my love didn’t go any further than that. This was probably because I was a keen Clary and Jace shipper (I still am to be honest). But after watching the Shadowhunters TV series, I really love the possibility of these two being in a relationship. They support each other well and are cute together, there’s not much more I could ask for.


shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x10243.) Alina and Nikolai from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Ok, I’m not completely happy with how the relationships worked out at the end of this series. Nikolai is my favourite characters, he’s so fun and his relationship with Alina was adorable. I wish their friendship had developed into something more. I probably would’ve enjoyed this series a lot more if Alina and Nikolai had ended up together.


97817856527454.) August and Kate from This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I love that this book featured no romance between August and Kate. But, I loved their friendship and I would be happy if these two grew closer in the sequels to this novel. I can’t even explain my love for both of these characters. They have a great chemistry in this book and their interactions are lovely to read about. I think they would be absolutely adorable together.


97816277921275.) Inej and Nina from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I have yet to read Crooked Kingdom, the finale to this duology, but I loved Inej and Nina’s friendship in this book. I’m pretty sure these characters won’t end up together and I have a feeling I’m the only person who even ship these two. I like them with their original love interests but there were so many cute moments between these two in this book. I couldn’t help but want them to be together.


What are you favourite non-canon couples?

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Non-Canon Ships

Leave a comment