June 2017 Favourites


It’s been a strange month for me, with exams and then I was on holiday for a week. So, I didn’t have as much time to do some things as I wanted to. And as a result I didn’t watch all that much TV or many films. I’m not really a huge film person anyway and I’ve been kinda stuck on what to watch TV-wise. Weirdly enough, there’s lots of things that I want to watch but I’m so indecisive so I just end up not watching anything. So if anyone has any TV recommendations, please let me know!

But, on the other hand, this has been a great month for music. And this post has kind of ended being a favourite songs of the month post as a result.

 


Music:

Hopeless Fountain Kingdom by Halsey

Favourites: Sorry, Angel on Fire, 100 Letters, Strangers

Halsey released her new album at the beginning of this month and I really love it! Although, not as much as her first one. I think musically it’s on par with Badlands but lyrically it doesn’t come close for me. But I’m still loving it and will happily listen to it on repeat.


Evolve by Imagine Dragons

Favourites: Whatever it Takes, Believer, I Don’t Know Why

I’ve been a fan of Imagine Dragons for awhile now and I was so excited to hear their new music. And I’m not disappointed. My only complaint is that I wish the album was had more songs.


No Phun Intended by Tyler Joseph

Favourites: Taken By Sleep, Drown, Hole in the Ground

Ok, I’m a massive Twenty One Pilots fan and I finally decided to go back and listen to Tyler’s EP which he released around 2007. I kinda put off listening to this because I knew once I did that I’d have no ‘new’ music to listen to from them. But these songs and lyrics are amazing and there’s something so nice about listening to these songs 10 years after they were written and thinking about where these guys are now. And I’ve been listening to this a lot whilst I wait (impatiently) for new music from them.


What’s Wrong by PVRIS

More PVRIS this month. I don’t think it’s possible for them to release a bad song. This song is great and I’m still haven’t figured out whether I love this more than Heaven. I’m so ready for their new album.


Try My Luck by Moon Jongup

So, B.A.P are my favourite kpop group, I’ve been listening to them for like 5 years now, and two of the members released solo songs this month. This one is my favourite of the two. I mainly love this song because Jongup is such an amazing performer and I could happily watch him dance for ages. Plus, the bridge of this song is everything.


TV:

Luke Cage

So I was kinda unsure of whether to include this because I started watching this in May and finished it right at the beginning of June. I enjoyed this for the most part, although the second half of this series wasn’t as good as the first half. I’m so glad I’m all caught up and ready to watch the Defenders when that starts (I’m so excited). Compared to the other Netflix Marvel shows, I think I prefer this over Iron Fist but not as much as Jessica Jones or Daredevil.


Arrow

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m into superhero shows. I’m more of Marvel fan though and I’ve never really ventured into much DC stuff. But seeing as I’m all caught up on the Marvel series, I decided to start watching Arrow. I’ve not heard much about this show from anyone but I’m really glad I started watching it. I’m kinda obsessed at the moment, although I’m not very far in yet. I’ve very nearly finished season 2.


 

What are some of your favourite things from this June?

 

5 thoughts on “June 2017 Favourites

  1. I love the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I keep hoping for DC to get up to speed.

    I am really let down by all the superhero shows on CW. Arrow is fantastic the first two seasons, but then falls off. Flash is probably the best in consistency, but it, as well as Supergirl and Legends, suffer from being too ‘shippy’ & angsty.

    Agents of SHIELD is by far, the best thing on tv. The characters and arcs are consistent over the entire series.

    I love the Netflix Marvel shows the best. Daredevil seasons one and two are incredible. Great storytelling. Season two of Daredevil has Matt looking like a piece of doggie poo, while all of the support characters have grown in incredible ways. Claire is the best hero among them. Daredevil seasons one and two have the best fight scenes ever. The gun combat in season two is unparalleled. Jessica Jones was just as good in the storytelling and never faltered. Luke Cage was awesome, but seemed a little rushed into production. Iron Fist was a huge let down! Iron Fist does not measure up to the other series. Defenders is comiing out next ,month. They must redeem themselves for putting out that crummy Iron Fist. I was actually hoping for a Daredevil Season three before Defenders. I want to see Matt grow up. Matt knows how to be a superhero, but he does not know how to be a man. Luke is a real man, but he just has to come to grips with being a hero.

    Happy Reading and Viewing!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      I’ve nearly really watched any other CW superhero shows. Are there any others worth giving a watch? I’m sad to hear that Arrow gets worse, I’m really liking it at the moment. I think I’ll continue to watch it anyway, until I get bored or find something else to watch.

      I’ve also not watched Agents of Shield, I’m a bit wary about starting it because I’m not sure how it would compare to the Netflix shows.

      I agree Daredevil is the best Netflix show, it’s what got me hooked on all the other Marvel shows.And I gotta agree that Matt wasn’t so great in the second season but I still really love his character. It took me a lot longer to get into Luke Cage and Jessica Jones, they were slow starting for me but they ended being great. And Iron Fist was disappointing, I was really looking forward to it too. It was mostly ruined by Danny though and I really liked a lot of side characters. I’m really looking forward to the Defenders redeeming some of the issues from the other series but I think I’m mostly just looking forward to finally seeing them all interact.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You may safely watch ‘Agents of SHIELD.’ You know how there are subtle hints of being in the same Marvel universe as Avengers during the Netflix series? They do the same thing in SHIELD, but even moreso because they are in the Avenger movies. Actually, I am hoping for a more direct tie in with these series. Either the Netflix crew guests on SHIELD, or vise versa. I could totally see Phil Coulson {star of SHIELD}, dropping in on the Defenders and saying ‘good job’.

        Yes, I am looking forward to the characters interaction, also. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

