June Wrap-Up & July TBR 2017


June was a strange month and for the most part I was busy. I had exams which are now all done, meaning I’ve finished sixth form! My A-levels are done, it ended up taking me an extra year because of reasons but I’m so excited that I’ve finally finished everything. And hopefully in September I’ll be at university studying Psychology which I’m looking forward to a lot!

Until then, I’ve not got much planned over this summer, apart from working. So, that means these next two months I should have plenty of time to read.

So despite June being a busy month, I managed to read 6 books. It helped that I went on holiday this past week so I had 7 days of being in the sun and doing nothing. And I managed to read 3 books in that week alone, which I’m really happy about.

I also wanted to mention I’ve reached my one year blog-iversary! I started this blog at the start of July last year and I’m kind of surprised I’ve kept it going. I know I’ve been very on and off with posting and have had months where I’ve been AWOL but this year has been kinda hard and weird. And I’m not going to make promises about posting really consistently in the future but I am going to post as much as possible and try to get back on track and prioritise my blog more.

I was thinking I’ve doing something special but I wasn’t really sure what to do. But what I am going to do is say a massive thank you to everyone who has supported my blog and commented on my posts. It means a lot to me to know that people care about what I’m reading and what I have to say. Hopefully, things will only get better in the future.

Sorry for the long introduction but here is my wrap-up for this month!

 


What I Read in June:

710arjt90ilThe Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

When Lyra’s friend Roger disappears, she and her dæmon are determined to find him. The ensuing quest leads them to the bleak splendour of the North, where armoured bears rule the ice and witch-queens fly through the frozen skies – and where a team of scientists is conducting experiments too horrible to be spoken about. Lyra overcomes these strange terrors, only to find something more perilous waiting for her – something with consequences which may even reach beyond the Northern Lights…

This is a re-read for me but I’m pretty sure I first read this book about 10 years ago so it’s been a while and I couldn’t remember much. I did remember loving this story as a kid though and Lyra was one of my favourite female characters at the time. I’m happy to say I still love this book a lot, the world and the characters are so wonderful. This whole series encapsulates everything I could ever want in a fantasy story, making it one of my favourite series I’ve read.

5/5 stars


9781472229571Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

Nanette O’Hare has played the quintessential privileged star athlete and straight-A student for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper–a mysterious, out-of-print cult classic–the rebel within Nanette awakens. As the new and outspoken Nanette attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, she learns that rebellion can sometimes come at a high price…and with devastating consequences.

I had mixed feelings about this book. Sometimes, I found Nanette kind of annoying and mean but other times I found I could really relate to what she was feeling. The direction the story took surprised me and I enjoyed how it tackled mental health and privilege. It also had a positive look at therapy which is always great. And I ended up leaving this book with so many thoughts and questions, I couldn’t stop thinking about it after I finished.

3.5/5 stars
Review


28954137Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

I finally read this! I was intimidated by its length but seeing  as I should’ve read this before Lady Midnight, I figured now was the right time. I’ve missed Cassandra Clare’s writing and this was perfect to read whilst I wait to get my hands on Lord of Shadows. I see why everyone says you should read this before Lady Midnight though. It answered a lot of questions I had and helped me understand the characters in that story more.

4.5/5 stars


23766634A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

I read this over the course of like 3 days whilst on holiday which I’m pretty happy with, considering Sarah J Maas’ books normally take me at least a week to read. I did like this book a lot, not as much as A Court of Mist and Fury, but definitely more than the first book. I’m fairly satisfied with how this trilogy ended and it’s safe to say this is much better than the Throne of Glass series. I know there are still lots of issues in this series with diversity and such but I feel like Sarah J Maas is at least trying to improve things.

4.5/5 stars


when-dimple-met-rishi-9781481478687_hrWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Dimple’s main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination. Rishi’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans… Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

*I received a free eARC of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review!

I liked this book for the most part. The Indian representation in this book was awesome and I loved that Dimple was such a smart and confident character. There were a lot of cute moments in this book but, unfortunately, the plot was kinda of all over the place. I was hoping for more about the tech-y side of things and finding out more about Dimple’s skills and Rishi’s creativity but that didn’t really happen.

3.5/5 stars
Review (coming soon)


c7hx6ekv4aacjdkNo Filter by Orlagh Collins

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world – the daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald’s family has secrets – and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she’s being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland. It’s going to be a long summer… Then she meets Liam. When you’re falling in love, it’s hard to tell someone everything. Even if you’ve got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you’re used to, how do you deal with real love – brave and true – with no filter?

*I received a free eARC of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review!

This book had a lot of great things going for it. Good summer vibes, an interesting look at the darker side of social media and some unpredictable plot points. But the writing was messy. Perhaps it was a stylistic thing that I didn’t get but a lot of the writing seemed like things teenagers would never think/say. Plus, there were also points of this book where I was so confused because it jumped from one place to another with no explanation as to how the characters got there. I thought I’d missed a chapter or something. The ending did redeem the story a bit, there were a few twists that I didn’t see coming and compelled me to read on.

2.5/5 stars
Review (coming soon)


 

What I Plan to Read in July:

If you checked out my haul from last week, most of these books were on that list.

  • The Diviners by Libba Bray. This is my current read and I’ve actually been reading this for a couple of weeks already and I’m still not very far into it. It’s weird because I am enjoying it but the writing is dense so it’s taking me a while to get through.
  • Shadows on the Moon by Zoë Marriott. I saw this at the library and the cover was gorgeous so I knew I just had to pick it up and read it. I’m really excited to read this.
  • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. I love Rainbow Rowell and after reading so many long books recently, I can’t wait to read something short and sweet.
  • The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman. After reading The Northern Lights in June, it makes perfect sense for me to read the second book of the trilogy this month. Like I mentioned I love these books a lot, so I’m looking forward to reading this.

the-diviners-final shadowsonthemoonnew 12576587075811 518nzusfkdl-_sx324_bo1204203200_


What did you read this June?

 

Leave a Reply

