Mini June Book Haul


I’ve gathered a few library books and eARCs recently. Not a lot but more than I should’ve considering I had exams during the first half of this month and didn’t actually have all that much time to read. But I’m pretty excited about getting to all of these and now that I’ve finished school (!!!) I’ve got a good few months with plenty of free time to spend reading. So here is my mini June book haul!

 

 

Library Books


the-diviners-finalThe Diviners by Libba Bray

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City, which is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult. Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

This book has been on my radar for the longest time but I’ve always been intimidated by it’s length. It’s a pretty chunky book but it’s got good reviews so I decided to finally pick it up and give it a go. I’m currently reading this one and liking it so far. Although, I’m not very far and it has been pretty slow going.


23766634A Court of Wings & Ruin by Sarah J Maas

I finally found this book in the library and I’m pretty excited that I’m finally able to read it and finish this series. I’ve been avoiding reviews/spoilers for the most part for this story and luckily I haven’t been spoiled for anything that happens in this book yet. But from what little I have heard, people seem to have mixed-to-negative opinions on this novel. So I’m not sure how I’m going to feel about this but I guess I’ll find out when I get around to reading it.


12576587075811Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

I feel like I’ve been accumulating so many 600+ pages books recently and I mostly picked this up because it’s short. Plus, it’s by Rainbow Rowell and it sounds like a fun story. I’m looking forward to being able to finish a book in a day instead of taking over a week like it’s been taking me to read all these longer books recently.


shadowsonthemoonnewShadows of the Moon by Zoe Marriott

Trained in the magical art of shadow-weaving, Suzume is able to recreate herself in any form – a fabulous gift for a girl desperate to escape her past. But who is she really? Is she a girl of noble birth living under the tyranny of her mother’s new husband, Lord Terayama, or a lowly drudge scraping a living in the ashes of Terayama’s kitchens, or Yue, the most beautiful courtesan in the Moonlit Lands? Whatever her true identity, Suzume is destined to capture the heart of a prince – and determined to use his power to destroy Terayama. And nothing will stop her, not even love.

I saw this at the library and picked it up because of the cover. And then I read the description and it’s supposed to be Cinderella retelling set in Japan. So, I was sold as soon as I saw that! This is a story I didn’t even realise I wanted. I can’t wait to read this!

 

 

eARCs


c7hx6ekv4aacjdkNo Filter by Orlagh Collins

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world – the daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald’s family has secrets – and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she’s being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland. It’s going to be a long summer … Then she meets Liam. When you’re falling in love, it’s hard to tell someone everything. Even if you’ve got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you’re used to, how do you deal with real love – brave and true – with no filter?

I’ve not read many contemporaries yet this year but it’s summer so it’s finally the time to change that! I’ve not heard loads about this book but it sounds cute and I’m really looking forward to reading a book set in Ireland since it’s such a lovely setting.


when-dimple-met-rishi-9781481478687_hrWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Dimple’s main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination. Rishi’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans… Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

I was so so so excited to be approved for this on Netgalley! I’ve literally only heard good things about this book. It’s an upbeat contemporary so it’s the ideal book to be reading this summer. I’ve started reading this already and I’m loving it so far.


 

What books have you acquired so far this month?

 

4 thoughts on “Mini June Book Haul

    1. There’s nothing better than getting a bunch of books for your birthday 😀 I didn’t actually buy Kindred Spirits, I got it out from the library. But I’m pretty sure it’s on Amazon, if not then maybe check out your local library to see if they have it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

