May Wrap-Up & June TBR 2017


So, let’s pretend that my current posting schedule isn’t non-existent and I haven’t been gone for like a month. Is that ok? Good! I’m glad we had this conversation…

I’ve read a total of 3 books this month which isn’t overly impressive, I know. But considering I’ve spent most of this month procrastinating exam revision by watching videos on YouTube, I’m pretty happy with that number.

I’m kinda just waiting for it to be the end of June already so my exams can be over and I feel like I can do things without imploding.

So here are the books I read in May and what I plan to read in June! (but, let’s be honest, probably won’t).


What I Read in May:
7176rywianl

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Mirror, mirror on the wall, Who is the fairest of them all? Queen Levana is known as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told …until now. 

I’m so proud of myself that I’ve finally completely finished the Lunar Chronicles! Although, I’ve loved this series for the most part, I didn’t enjoy this book so much. But I mostly just disliked it because I dislike Levana. I was hoping that discovering more about her past would help me sympathise with her but I still hate her a lot! Most of what was going on in this book didn’t sit right with me. Nevertheless, Marissa Meyer’s writing was wonderful as always and it was good learning more about what drove Levana to become the villain we know in the Lunar Chronicles.

4/5 stars


31408305Captivate by Vanessa Garden

Miranda whisked away on a beach holiday by her grandparents but is suddenly dragged underwater by a mysterious stranger while taking a midnight swim. Miranda soon discovers that she’s being held captive in a underwater city by the arrogant Marko…the King of this underwater civilisation. He intends to marry Miranda in order to keep his crown from falling into the clutches of his half-brother. There’s only one problem: Miranda is desperate to return home. Trying to secure her freedom, Miranda quickly forms an alliance with Robbie — Marko’s personal guard. However, she soon discovers that even underwater, people are hiding dangerous secrets.

This is a book I picked up on a whim. It was a free dowload on my eReader and I wanted something easy and quick to read. So, I figured why not? It was mostly how I expected it to be: fun with lots of cliches and a few plot issues. But I did find myself excited about reading it so I don’t regret picking it up.

2.5/5 stars


23308087Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

When Mariko is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to the emperor’s son – Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued…or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead. Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. As Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known

I was so happy to recieve an ARC of this book because I’ve been excited to read it for a while know. And it didn’t disappoint! The writing was at times too descriptive for me but the characters and plot of this book were exciting and I was hooked whilst reading it. I’m so glad I read this but I’m kinda sad I have to wait so long for the sequel.

4/5 stars
Review


What I Plan to Read in June:

I have exams this month so I’m not going to be spending much time reading, unfortunately. So there are only 2 books on my TBR this month, both of them are on the longer side and they’re both highly anticipated reads (which I’m already behind on). But I have a feeling I won’t get to either of these until the end of the month though.

  • A Court of Wings & Ruin by Sarah J Maas. I’m annoyed that I haven’t been able to read this yet, I’ve been avoiding reviews and spoilers because I want to go into this knowing as little as possible. I know there are still lots of issues in this series but I need to read it because I’m so curious to find out how things are wrapped up.
  • Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. I can’t wait to finally read this! Lady Midnight was one of my favourite books from last year and I still remember reading that final page and being desperate to find out what happened next. Hopefully, I’ll be able to avoid spoilers for this book too.

2376663430312891

 

 

 

 

 

 


What books did you read during May? What do you plan to read in June? Is anyone else stressed because exams?

7 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & June TBR 2017

    1. Sad to hear you didn’t enjoy Flame in the Mist that much, I recognised it had some problems too but I still really enjoyed reading it. And I can’t wait to read ACOWAR, I’m glad I’ve been hearing mostly good things about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just couldn’t really get into it. And I strongly disliked the POV. I couldn’t connect with absolutely any of the characters because of it and just didn’t enjoy it.
        And I loved how unpredictable ACOMAF was and so far ACOWAR is too and hopefully that continues!

        Like

Leave a Reply

