March 2017 Wrap-Up


Ok, I owe you guys an apology for the serious lack of posts this month. I’ve had little desire to read and little desire to write posts too. And I’ve been feeling like this for a couple months now but I think I’m coming out of it (!!!).

Although I’ve read 6 books this month, I didn’t really enjoy many of them, not that they were bad, I mostly felt indifferent to them. And I don’t necessarily think that’s the fault of the books but more just because I’ve not been enjoying reading as much. But, like I mentioned, things have been picking up so far in April!

So here are the books I read in March!

 


25437747

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

I read this back at the start of March and I’m pretty sure it’s my favourite book which I read this month. I really loved A Quiet Kind of Thunder, Sara Barnard’s other book, so I was looking forward to reading this one. I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as her other book, as I found Caddy, the main character, kind of annoying. But I loved that the book focused on friendship and the writing is so easy and quick to read, which I love.

4/5 stars


2294528Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

I’ve been wanting to watch the film for this for the longest time, not realising it was originally a book, so when I found it was a book I had to pick it up. I actually listened to this book on audiobook and it’s the first audiobook I’ve ever finished! And I enjoyed it a lot! It wasn’t the most exciting of books but it had a wonderfully, magical atmosphere to it which I adored. I just loved the whimsical nature of it and I do want to read a physical copy of this book at some point.

4/5 stars


id_hco2016mth09replReplica by Lauren Oliver

This book was a bit of a disappointment. The premise was great, told from the perspective of two clones and being able to ‘flip’ the book. But, it kinda fell flat for me. The characters were really bland and there was too much insta-love in the story. Reading from the two different perspectives felt repetitive as some points and not much seeemed to happen. Despite this, I’m still intriguied enough to read the next book.

2.5/5 stars


8835379Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

This the second audiobook I listened to this month and I also enjoyed this one. This book was definitely entertaining, and even though it’s not the most high-quality piece of literature, I had a lot of fun reading it. I love the time-travel element of this book, and the plot was fast moving which I loved. But, the main problem I had with this book is that it felt juvenile, I probably would’ve enjoyed it a lot more if I had read it when I was younger.

3.5/5 stars


attachment-1Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

Unfortunately, I didn’t really enjoy this book. It’s the final book in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy and it failed to maintain my interest. Although I appreciate Laini Taylor’s lyrical writing style, 600 pages of it was just too much for me. And I didn’t like how this book randomly introduced new characters and I also couldn’t get into Karou’s and Akiva’s relationship. So, sadly, I didn’t enjoy this trilogy as much as I’d hoped.

1.5/5 stars


12954620Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

I liked this book, it was an enjoyable read and I didn’t find it too difficult to get into what was going on. I think the world was definitely the strongest point of this book, as the character’s felt lacking. The first half of the book was fairly slow moving but I still found myself enjoying it. And I am looking forward to reading further books in this series to see how things progress.

3.5/5 stars


 

What books did you read this past month?

 

Leave a Reply

