Top 5 Wednesday: Top Science-Fiction & Fantasy Books On My TBR

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is the top science-fiction and fantasy books on our TBR. I’m pretty sure over half of my TBR is fantasy/sci-fi books so it was hard to narrow this list down to just five, but I managed to in the end. I also tried to pick some books that I haven’t mentioned so much on my blog to make this post a bit more interesting.

 


24763621Wintersong by S. Jae Jones

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her spirit and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away. But when her sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl must journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds and the mysterious man who rules it she soon faces an impossible decision. With time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

I’ve heard mixed things about this book but I’m still really curious about. I think it’s a Labyrinth retelling (a film which I’ve seen like half of…) and I’m interested to find out how the musical elements are intertwined into the story.


26114463Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything. But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult. The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

I really need to read this book. I love assassin books, and especially those with assassin schools! It sounds dark and action-packed and I’ve heard so many good things about this book. However, I’ve also heard it’s kinda difficult at first to get into. So, maybe that’s why I have yet to pick it up.


9781780748375_11Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet. But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out, the fleet’s AI may actually be their enemy; and nobody will reveal what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into the web to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Are you tired of me mentioning this book on my TBRs? Because I am. I am still planning to read this and I’m looking forward to the time when I do! But I just can’t find this book at the library (although I’ve seen Gemina on multiple occasions) so I haven’t been able to read it yet.


6547258The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?

In all honesty, I know very little about the plot of this book. But so many people seem to love this series and I want to know what all the hype’s about! Although, the fact that this is a long, high fantasy, adult book does intimidate me and I don’t know when I’ll feel ready to start this series. However, I’m looking forward to when I do.


28374007Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark flames or storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomach-ache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom roses and control fierce beasts. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose …it’s life or death. 

This is another book I’ve heard mixed things about but a few booktubers and bloggers I trust have loved this story. The premise really intrigues me, a fight to the death between three sisters, yes please! And the cover’s beautiful as well. So, hopefully, I’ll get to this one soon.


What are the top science-fiction and fantasy books on your TBR?

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top Science-Fiction & Fantasy Books On My TBR

  1. I definitely recommend Three Dark Crowns! I’m surprised it hasn’t received more popularity but I think that the second book will clear up all of my issues with the first one (which were mostly just wanting a little more information on the island’s history). Hope you get to read it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand your hesitation with Nevernight, the opening and the story-telling in general has really polarised people! But I really commend it, as I thought it was incredible. Can’t wait to see what you think when you do get around to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

