February Wrap-Up & March TBR 2017


Guess who’s in a reading slump? Yes, that would be me. I still managed to read 6 books this month but most of those were in the first couple of weeks of February. But these past two weeks I’ve not really read anything because I’ve not been in the mood to. Which is annoying. And its also kinda resulted in me being less motivated to blog so I’ve not been so active, so I’m sorry about that.

 


What I Read in February: 


224912Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

This is my least favourite book in the Harry Potter series, I don’t find the plot that interesting, but I still really love it and I really enjoyed reading it! There’s so many things which I’ve forgotten from when I first read these books. But, saying that, I think I’m going to stop my re-read here because like I mentioned I’ve been in a slump. I don’t feel motivated enough to pick up the rest of the series at the moment.

4.5/5 stars
Review


winter_marissa_meyer_book_coverWinter by Marissa Meyer

I really loved this book! I’m both happy and sad to have finished this series and I think this book was a perfect conclusion. I love all the characters and relationships in this story and, even though it’s a long book, I couldn’t stop reading it. There’s a part of me that thinks it was too long but it was amazing nonetheless.

4.5/5 stars
Review



13600168Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s an art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work, nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole. Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

This a re-read but I barely remember anything from the first time I read this book so it didn’t really feel like it. I enjoyed this book, Laini Taylor has a wonderful writing style and the world she’s created is magical. But, I found the second half of this book less engaging than the first half for some reason.

4/5 stars
Review


513hoits6tl-sx316Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

To Andy and his parents, it looks like any other carnival: creaking ghost train, rusty rollercoaster and circus performers. But of course it isn’t. Drawn to the hall of mirrors, Andy enters and is hypnotised by the many selves staring back at him. Sometime later, one of those selves walks out rejoins his parents – leaving Andy trapped inside the glass, snatched from the tensions of his suburban home and transported to a world where time performs acrobatic tricks. And now an identical stranger inhabits Andy’s life, unsettling his mother with a curious blankness, as mysterious events start unfolding in their Irish coastal town…

I received an ARC of this book and I thought it was OK. It had a wonderful atmosphere and a unique premise but it lacked interesting plot and characters which made me enjoy this book less than perhaps I could of.

3/5 stars
Review


dobaspbkDays of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

This is the second book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy and I enjoyed it less than the first one. Not much seemed to happen in this book and it was dark and angst-y, which I wasn’t in the mood for at the time. The thing that redeemed this book were Karou’s best friends, Zuzana and Mik, who lightened the mood a bit.

3/5 stars
Review


9781780749747Room Empty by Sarah Russi

Fletcher and Dani are fighting their own inner demons just to stay alive. Dani is ravaged by anorexia and hasn’t eaten for days. Fletcher is fighting to stay off the streets and to stay off drugs. Will their attraction to each other save or destroy them? Both patients at the Daisy Bank Rehab Centre, Fletcher wants to help Dani find out about the Room Empty at the heart of her pain: What happened to Dani in that room when she was four? Whose is the dead body that lies across the door? Why won’t her mind let her remember?As Dani and Fletcher begin to learn how to love, Sarah Mussi weaves an intoxicating story of pain, fear and redemption.

This book was frustrating. This is an ARC which doesn’t come out until April but I decided to read it this month for some reason. And it was good at first but, as it went on, I just couldn’t get my head around some things. The main one being the treatment of Dani’s eating disorder, more specifically the lack of it. I couldn’t understand how she was in this rehab centre but she was allowed to go days with out eating and how her physical health was terrible but there were no mentions of doctors/nurses to monitor it. There were other things which annoyed me too and I’ve got a long review coming nearer to the book’s release date where I ramble on about them.

1.5/5 stars
Review (coming soon)

 


Blog Posts From January:

Lists

Reviews

Tags

Wrap-Ups/TBRs

 


What I Plan to Read in February:

I’ve only got 4 books on my TBR this month and hopefully I’ll be able to get to them all. Maybe one will drag me out of my reading slump somehow…

  • Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard. I’m currently reading this book and I’m not very far in yet but I think I’m going to enjoy it. I feel like I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy lately so I wanted to take a break by reading a contemporary. And with Sara Barnard’s other novel, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, being one of my favourite books of last year, I decided to finally pick this up.
  • Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. This is the final book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and I was going to read it last month but, after not enjoying the second one as much as I hoped, I decided not to. But I’m still planning to get to it soon, hopefully I’ll enjoy it.
  • Replica by Lauren Oliver. I’ve been curious about this book ever since it was released and I’m still really excited about it. I don’t even know what it’s about… And I don’t which way I’m going to read it yet so if anyone’s already read this and knows the best way to read it, I’d appreciate if you’d let me know
  • Countless by Karen Gregory. This is an ARC which I’m really excited for. It’s about a girl with an eating disorder who discovers she’s pregnant and it’s been getting good reviews so far so I think it’ll be something I’ll like.

25437747attachment-1id_hco2016mth09replb9de615191a165d4d8debceaa1b5efe9

 


How was your reading in January? What’s on your TBR this month?

2 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up & March TBR 2017

  1. YASSSS. I LOVED WINTER. I think Cress was my favorite book out of the series, but Winter was a close second simply because I loveeee Throne and Cress together <33 I also really need to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I've been dying to read it for years. D:

    -Amber

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

