The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I’m sorry that this is late, as Valentine’s Day was last week. But better late than never, right? I’m someone who’s never really celebrated Valentine’s Day but the questions for this tag seem really fun so I’m excited anyway!

 

Many thanks to Heather @thesassygeek for tagging me to do this!


heartless_book_cover_-_p_-_2016Stand Alone Book You Love

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless is my favourite stand alone novels at the moment and seems like a very appropriate book for Valentine’s day… But, anyway. I loved it so much! Then again, I love Alice in Wonderland and Marissa Meyer’s writing, so I guess it’s not a surprise that I adored this as much as I did. I think Marissa Meyer did an amazing job at creating her own version of this well known world and its characters.


27b4c08c969d918bdeecedb2594395d3Dystopian Book You Love

The Delirium series by Lauren Oliver

I haven’t read any dystopian books for a while so I’m choosing the Delirium series which I read ages ago. I can’t remember much about it but I do remember that I really enjoyed it! Although the second and third book weren’t as good as the first, I had a lot of fun reading it and it still sticks out in my mind as one of my favourites.


asidescended-highresA Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About

As I Descended by Robin Talley

This book deserves more love. I really enjoyed reading it and I think lots of other people would enjoy it too if they gave it a chance. It’s a retelling of Macbeth, set in a boarding school, featuring a lesbian romance. It was dark and entertaining and I wish more people knew about this book.


Favorite Book Couple

Magnus & Alec from The Mortal Instruments series

I’ve mentioned a couple of times before that Malec is one of my favourite book couples. I’ve always loved these two together, they’re so cute and I think they bring out the best in each other.


9781780748375_11Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Read Yet

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I still haven’t read this book even though it sounds amazing! I’ve seen plenty of praise for this story and the format it’s told in seems really unique and cool. I do plan on reading this when I can but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.


13600168A Book With Red on the Cover

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This is a book I finished recently and it has a beautiful cover. The colours are gorgeous and I love how it correlates to the story. I enjoyed reading this book, although it was technically a reread but I didn’t remember much from the first time I read it, so it didn’t really feel like a reread. But I adore Laini Taylor’s writing and the world she’s created for this series is amazing.


cvodryjw8ais5hzA Book With Pink on the Cover

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

This is another one of my favourite stand alones which also has a beautiful cover. This is a lovely book with some adorable romance and an accurate depiction of anxiety, which was great to see. I’d recommend you check it out if you haven’t already.


256683You were given a box of chocolate what fictional boyfriend/ or girlfriend would given them to you.

Jace from The Mortal Instruments

Ideally, I’d like some chocolates from Jace but I don’t know how likely that would be. I’d also take some from Jem from the Infernal Devices series, I feel like he’d be more likely to give chocolates than Jace would. I just like Cassandra Clara’s male characters, ok….


You are Single on Valentines Day. What Book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What Movie would you watch?


513hoits6tl-sx316Reading: Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

I was reading Carnivalesque on Valentine’s day. I received an eARC of this book and I recently finished it! It was a whimsical and atmospheric story but it was kinda slow, there wasn’t much going on plot-wise. But it was still an interesting book, and different from a lot of the other ones I’ve read.

hi

Watching: Healer

I didn’t watch any films on Valentine’s day because I’m  not really a film kind of person. But I did watch Healer, which is a drama I’ve watched quite a few times before. I have a bit of an obsession with it… It has a great story with interesting characters and romance and there’s not really much more I could ask for in a TV show.

 


27883214You are in the Book Store. All of a Sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What New Release will you love?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

There’s so much hype surrounding this book but I’m still super excited for it. It sounds exciting and exactly like something I love and I can’t wait to pick it up as soon as possible!


 

Let me know what you did this Valentine’s Day ~

4 thoughts on “The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

  1. Thanks for doing the tag, I loved reading through all of your answers!
    I loved Heartless as well which was a big surprise for me since I didn’t really like Cinder. I loved Illuminae and Daughter of Smoke and Bone as well.
    As I Descended sounds like a really interesting book as well, I may have to check that one out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers! Heartless is such a great book 😀 I love Cassanadra Clare’s male characters, too! They’re so well-developed. And Malec are my ultimate OTP. I love them so darn much haha. I highly encourage Illuminae! It’s certainly one of my favorite YA sci-fi’s to date 🙂 And I recently finished Caraval and thought it was brilliant. I hope you end up loving it, too! Happy reading 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

