Down The TBR Hole #1

This is a meme hosted by @lostinastory. And basically works by looking at the books on your Goodreads TBR and deciding whether you want to keep them or not.

A lot of these books are kinda of old… And they’ve been on my TBR for years now so I’m glad to finally be sorting through them.

 

What to do…

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

 


51umjs-2r2l-_sl500_

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods – despite the monsters roaming the woods. But rumours of a terrible curse – and a missing hero – are flying around camp. It seems Jason, Piper and Leo are the chosen ones to embark on a terrifying new quest, which they must complete by the winter solstice. In just four days time. 

This is the first book in the series which follows on from the Percy Jackson series. I read those book ages ago and, although I’ve heard great things about this series, I’m not sure if I’m all that interested in reading this one. There are so many Rick Riordan books for me to catch up on but with there being so many other books that I want to read, I don’t think I ever will.

Decision: Going


georgeorwellxobeygiantprintset-1984coverbyshepardfairey1984 by George Orwell

In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind. Winston is a man in grave danger for the simple reason that his memory still functions. Drawn into a forbidden love affair, Winston finds the courage to join a secret revolutionary organization called The Brotherhood, dedicated to the destruction of the Party. Together with his beloved Julia, he hazards his life in a deadly match against the powers that be.

This is a classic and it’s been on my TBR for so long but I still do really want to read it. Seeing as this is one of the earliest dystopian novels, I’m curious about it. And the story still sounds relevant to what’s going on today.

Decision: Keeping


thegiverThe Giver by Lois Lowry

This haunting story centers on Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he’s given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.

I know this is a very famous and popular novel and I believe I became curious about it when they were making the film which was a couple of years ago. And that interest has kinda disappeared now. The plot doesn’t intrigue me as much as it once did so I don’t think I’m ever going to get around to reading this.

Decision: Going


the-book-thief-coverThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery… Set during World War II in Germany, this is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This book has lots of good ratings and I’ve heard lots of positive things from people I trust about it. I don’t usually read stories set in World War II but seeing as this one follows a book lover, I think I’ll enjoy it. So, I’m definitely still planning to read this one at some point.

Decision: Keeping


reasonsus2Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I heard of it and that’s no different now. And I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet. Especially, as I’ve been wanting to read more books featuring mental illness recently. So I will get to this one (eventually).

Decision: Keeping


Do you agree with my choices?

10 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #1

  1. I read Thirteen Reasons Why, The Book Thief and 1984 and I think it’s great that you keep them! I don’t read WWII books either (or at least not before I read The Book Thief) but despite that I hugely enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really wish you would give The Giver a chance…I agree with your other choices, but I read The Giver a long time ago, and then last year again bc I didn’t know that Lowry followed up the series with another three books! Now it all falls into place and I was delighted to read it yet again but along with the next three books. It’s totally up to you, but I know no one who has regretted reading it so far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

