January Wrap-Up & February TBR 2017

This month’s been strange, it’s gone very quickly. And for some reason I feel like I haven’t done or read all that much this month. But, somehow I read 7 books this months. I don’t really know how that happened, but I’m not going to complain.

However, I do think I’ve kinda been neglecting my blog this month. I’ve been struggling to keep up with other people’s blogs, commenting and reviewing books. I am hoping to change that asap but school and life have been getting to me so I’m not going to make any promises.

Anyway! On to the books!

 


What I Read in January:

22299763Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I loved this book so much! But, I’m sad this series is over already. I think I enjoyed this book slightly more than Six of Crows as the plotting and scheming going on in this book was so fun. The characters were all amazing, of course, and it was wonderful learning more about their past. I had no idea where it was going or how it would end whilst I was reading it. But I am really satisfied with how everything turned out.

5/5 stars
Review


26804769Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan

Carys and Max have ninety minutes of air left. None of this was supposed to happen. But perhaps this doesn’t need to be the end… Adrift in space with nothing to hold on to but each other, Carys and Max can’t help but look back at the well-ordered world they have left behind – at the rules they couldn’t reconcile themselves to, and a life to which they might now never return. For in a world where love is banned, what happens when you find it?

I enjoyed this book. It wasn’t amazing but it was still a fun read. Although it features elements of sci-fi, I’d say it’s much more suitable for a romance lover to check out, as that is the main focus of the story.

3.5/5 stars
Review


william-ritter-jackabyJackaby by William Ritter

Newly arrived in New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain it’s a nonhuman creature.

This book was ok. I liked the setting and the detective elements of this story. But the characters didn’t stand out, and there were some fantasy elements to this story that weren’t explained all that well. So, it was a bit disappointing.

2.5/5 stars
Review


asidescended-highresAs I Descended by Robin Talley

Maria and Lily are their school’s ultimate power couple. Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey. Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word. But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything to make their dreams come true. When feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.

This book was full of mystery and creepy stuff, both of which I really enjoyed. It was a bit scarier than I expected but I, overall, had a fun time reading it.

4/5 stars
Review


if-i-was-your-girlIf I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone. And then she meets Grant Everett who is open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she yearns to share with Grant everything about herself. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it. Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.

I really loved this book! It was wonderful reading a book featuring a transgender main character and this book also dealt with some other important issues as well. I’d really recommend anyone and everyone to check out this book at some point.

4.5/5 stars
Review


25365584The Graces by Laure Eve

Just like everybody else in her small town, River is obsessed with the Graces. And just like everybody else, she’s been seduced by their wealth, their exclusivity, their beauty and their glamour. Perhaps even their magic. But unlike everybody else, River knows exactly what she’s doing. Doesn’t she?

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I’d heard some bad reviews about this story but I actually liked it. The concept was interesting and there was a mysterious atmosphere to the writing that I loved.

3.5/5 stars
Review


traitor_to_the_throne-667x1024Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Mere months ago, Amani al’Hiza fled her hometown with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she’s fighting to liberate the entire desert nation of Miraji. When Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan’s palace—she’s determined to bring the tyrant down. Desperate to uncover the Sultan’s secrets by spying on his court, she tries to forget that Jin disappeared just as she was getting closest to him, and that she’s a prisoner of the enemy. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she’s been told he is, and who’s the real traitor to her sun-bleached, magic-filled homeland.

For me, this book was an improvement on the first one. It expanded on all the things I wanted it to, such as the world and the magic. And despite having a bit of a slow start, the rest of the book was so amazing that I didn’t mind. I’m so excited to see where the last book in this series goes after this one.

4.5/5 stars
Review


Blog Posts From January:

Discussions

Lists

Reviews

Tags

Wrap-Ups/TBRs

Other


January’s Adventures in Instagram:

insta


What I Plan to Read in February:

I have 7 books on my TBR this month. I don’t think I’ll be able to get all of them though, as some of them are pretty lengthy.

  • Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan. I meant to read this last month but I still haven’t gotten around to. But I will read it this month because I need to review it asap!
  • Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets. My plan was to re-read one Harry Potter book a month but somehow I’m already behind on doing that. I have started this book but I haven’t finished it yet. But it’s short, so it shouldn’t take me long.
  • Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban. When I finish reading Chamber of Secrets, I’d like to move on to reading this book. This is my favourite in the Harry Potter series so I’m pretty excited about re-reading it
  • Winter by Marissa Meyer. This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles series and I’m really looking forward to reading it. But, I’m intimidated by it’s length. It’s so long so it’ll take me ages to read which I’m kinda dreading.
  • The Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy. I found all 3 books in this series in the library recently. I read the first book ages ago and remember enjoying it but I can’t remember any details from it.

513hoits6tl-sx316 cos-us-jacket-art winter_marissa_meyer_book_cover 13600168


 

What’s on your TBR this month?

Leave a Reply

