UK vs. US Book Covers

In case you guys didn’t know, I’m from the UK. And I’ve always been curious about different US and UK covers for the same book.

I get so confused when I go to book shops/libraries and I can’t find a book I’m looking for. But then, after a  bit more searching, I find a book with the same name and I eventually realise that, ok, this book has a different cover to what I’ve been seeing online.

So, today I wanted to compare some UK and US book covers and discuss which ones I prefer. This post is totally just my opinion and if you have different thoughts (or not) I’d love to hear them!

 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor


ukvsuk-daughterofsmokeandbone

For this book, I prefer the UK edition (also check out the gorgeous older UK book cover). I love the colours and how it shows the door, which is important in the story. I find the US edition kinda strange and I generally don’t like books with faces on the cover. I think I’d be less inclined to pick up the American edition of this book.

 

Under Rose Tainted Skies by  Louise Gornall


ukvsuk-underrosetaintedskies

The UK edition is a bit too pink for my liking and the cage isn’t as striking as it is on the US edition. I prefer the colours on the US edition and I love the watercolour effect for the sky. So, it’s safe to say I prefer the America one for this book.

 

And I Darken by Kiersten White


usvsuk-andidarken

I really love both these covers! But, I think I’d choose the US one over the UK one. This is mainly just because, like I mentioned for Daughter of Smoke & Bone, I’m not a fan of faces on covers and I also prefer the purples on the US edition.

 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer


usvsuk-heartless

Another one where I love both the covers! But, strangely, these covers give me completely different vibes for the story. And I think the American edition is a better representation of what the story is about, as it highlights the story is not really a happy one.

 

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo


usvsuk-ifiwasyourgirl

I definitely prefer the US edition for If I Was Your Girl. The UK edition seems like a typical YA contemporary cover, so doesn’t really stand out, and it also has a more childish feel to it. Whereas, the US cover seems a lot more mature and also features a transgender model. As this book is about a transgender character, I think the US one is a lot better.

 

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff


usvsuk-nevernight

For this one, I prefer the UK version. I prefer the simpler colours and artwork of the bird is beautiful and detailed. I also like how the tagline is included as well on the UK one.

 

Night Owls/The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett


usvsuk-nightowls

What I find really strange about this book is not only did it get a cover change but it also got a name change. I’m still not really why though… But, I find the UK cover (and name) much more appealing. I think the colours are beautiful and it stands out a lot more than the US version.

 

The Graces by Laure Eve


usvsuk-thegraces

Although these book covers are different, they still give off a very similar feel to me. So, it’s difficult for me to choose a favourite. But I think, I prefer the US one just because it’s got a lovely combination of purples and reds.

 

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness


usvsuk-therestofusjustlivehere

I like both of these covers! I like how the US edition shows loads of characters on it but I think I prefer the UK one overall. I think it’s a lot more striking and I prefer the typography and colours on the English one as well.

 

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab


usvsuk-thissavagesong

The thing I find interesting about this change is that the UK one is under the name V.E. Schwab and the US one is under the name Victoria Schwab and I don’t know why she did that. And I know, It doesn’t really make much different but it kinda nags at me. But, I prefer the US edition. Even though the UK one is beautiful, the US one fits the book more for me.

 


 

Do you prefer UK or US book covers?

 

17 thoughts on “UK vs. US Book Covers

  1. I love all these covers! I find that I usually prefer the UK version over the US versions, I still love the US versions for some. I definitely agree with you on Nevernight, Heartless, DoSaB, and Under Rose-Tainted Skies. Even though I prefer the US version for And I Darken, too, I’m in love with the UK version. It’s so striking! Great choices 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In regards to this post, I prefer more of the US covers. The UK covers for DoSaB and Nevernight are two of my favourites though! It’s a shame that If I Was Your Girl had a cover change for the UK. I thought it was so great that there was a transwoman on the cover. They could have even used a transwoman from the UK on the cover which would have been awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I love the DoSaB and Nevernight covers too! And I really don’t understand the UK cover change for If I Was Your Girl. To me, it kinda makes it look like just another typical contemporary which it isn’t really.

      Like

Leave a Reply

