Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Reading Goals

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is our 2017 goals. This topic is open to all goals for this year but I’ve chosen to focus on my reading goals because that’s probably more interesting. These goals are more like guidelines for what I want to do because I have a bad habit of setting out to do something but then getting distracted/discouraged and then not doing the thing.

So, ideally, I’ll get these things done this year but it won’t be the end of the world if I don’t.

 


1.) Read (at least) 50 Books

I’ve set my Goodreads goal to 50 books which is something I’m pretty sure I can reach. Seeing as last year I read 67 books, which I didn’t really expect to happen, this shouldn’t be too difficult. However, I’m aware that this year I’m going to have less free time than I did last year so I’m less likely to read so much.

 


2.) Keep Blogging

This isn’t directly book related but it’s close enough. I really want to continue blogging regularly. I went through a bit of a blogging and reading slump these past couple of weeks and I haven’t really felt like writing anything. But I think I’m getting out of that now and getting back on schedule. I really want to add a bit more variety to my posts. I’ve been wanting to post more discussion topics for the longest time but I’ve been lacking inspiration and I’ve been struggling to organise my thoughts. But I will endeavor to write different types of posts this year.

 


3.) Read More Diversely

I’m pretty sure this is something that’s on everyone’s goals for this year. I’ve learned a lot more about the importance of reading diversely and I was kinda shocked looking back at my read shelf on Goodreads and seeing how limited in variety my reading was. So there lots of things I aim to read this year: I want to read more own voices books, I want to read books with a range of sexualities and genders, I want to read books focusing on different races and cultures.

 


4. ) Read in Different Formats

Kind of following on from reading diversely, I also want to read books in some different formats. Although I’ve started reading ebooks this year, there are still lots of books on my ereader that are waiting to be read. I also want to started reading (listening?) to audiobooks. I did start listening to one a couple of months ago but then I got distracted halfway through and never finished it… I struggle with audiobooks because I’m very picky with voices and I get easily distracted. However, I’d like to listen to at least a few audiobooks this year.

 


 

5.) Finish Some Series

I started a lot of series last year which I’ve yet to finish. So, I’d like to prioritise finishing series over starting new ones but I don’t know how well this will go. The series I’d like to finish are:

  • Harry Poter series by JK Rowling (re-read)
  • The Young Elites trilogy by Marie Lu
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  • The Burn for Burn trilogy by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
  • The Snow Like Ashes trilogy by Sara Raasch
  • The Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Seleciton series by Kiera Cass

 


 

What are your reading goals for next year?

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Reading Goals

  1. Reading in different formats is a great goal to have 😀 I haven’t listened to an audiobook before, but I think I’d be pretty picky with voices, too. I much prefer to read my stories though haha. I haven’t started the HP series just yet, although I hope to binge it sometime this semester. And I’m on the last book of the Young Elites series and I still need to read Winter for the Lunar Chronicles, along with Stars Above and Fairest. I hope you manage to achieve all your goals this year! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I prefer to read my stories too rather than listen to them but I really love the idea of being able to do things whilst listening to an audiobook. Have fun marathoning HP. Hopefully we’ll both finish those series this year 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

