December 2016 Wrap-Up & January 2017 TBR

I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year! I can’t believe this year is over and it’s now 2017! This is weird.

Although lots of bad things have happened this year globally, personally this year has been pretty good. A lot has happened to me this year and I feel like I’ve grown as a person. I’ve had so much more energy and motivation to pursue the things that I love, including books and music and lots of other little things.

I’m looking forward to 2017 and I’m really hoping it’s even better than 2016.

 


What I Read in December:

13206828Cress by Marissa Meyer

This is third book in the Lunar Chronicles, which I’ve been loving so far. Each book is better than the last. I managed to read this 500 page book in about three days, which is pretty impressive for me. It introduced some new characters who I loved, especially Cress, and I’m super excited to read the final book soon so I can finish this series off.

5/5 stars
Review


13406425Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Lilia used to trust boys but not after what happened this summer. And she’ll do anything to stop the same thing happening to her sister. Kat’s over the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes made at her expense. It all goes back to one person – her ex-best friend – and now it’s payback time. Four years ago, Mary left town because of a boy. Now shes back, she’s going after him and she’s going to make him pay. Three very different girls who want the same thing: revenge, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they’ve each had a taste.

This book was a really enjoyable revenge story however it was a bit slow starting for my taste. I did really like all the 3 main characters, as they all had unique voices, and I have a feeling the next few books in this series are going to be a lot better than this one.

3.5/5 stars
Review


23846013The Rose Society by Marie Lu

This is the second book in The Young Elites trilogy and I really enjoyed this! I adored the first book a lot and, although I don’t think this book was quite as good as the first, I still loved it. It was a bit slow starting but it picked up towards the ending. The main protagonist Adelina is such an intriguing and dark character, she’s so different from lots of other characters in YA novels and I can’t help but love her.

4.5/5 stars
Review (coming soon)


The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

cvr9781471116148_9781471116148_hrCharlie is a freshman.And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

I’m sure most of you know of this book and I’m definitely late to reading this. But I finally did! This is a book that’s had a lot of hype and it didn’t blow me away quite as much as I expected it to. But, it’s a beautifully written novel and is very relatable and quotable.

4/5 stars
Review


51iqs7wg3sl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Transit by Rachel Cusk

In the wake of family collapse, a writer and her two young sons move to London. The process of upheaval is the catalyst for a number of transitions—personal, moral, artistic, practical—as she endeavors to construct a new reality for herself and her children. In the city she is made to confront aspects of living she has, until now, avoided, and to consider questions of vulnerability and power, death and renewal, in what becomes her struggle to reattach herself to, and believe in, life.

I read an adult book? I know, I’m surprised too. I think I requested this ARC accidently… But I actually ended up enjoying it more than I thought I would, even if it did take me awhile to get into.  The writing had a detached style, it was cold and analytical, which was strange. But once I got used to it, I found myself liking this story much more.

3/5 stars
Review


72193Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

I was going to re-read all the Harry Potter last month and this month but I only got around to reading this one. So, my new plan is to read one Harry Potter book every month until I finish the series. As expected, I loved this book! It’s been such a long time since I last read this series and it was amazing revisiting this world.

5/5 stars
Review


 

Blog Posts from December:

Book Haul:

Discussions:

Lists:

Reviews:

Tags:

Wrap-Ups/TBRs:

 


December’s Adventures in Instagram:

decinstagram


What I Plan to Read in January:

I have a bunch of library books to read as well as a couple of ARCs. My priorities being Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan, As I Descended by Robin Talley and If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. I’ve not read much these past couple of weeks. I’ve had a lot of free time with it being the holidays but I’ve been in a reading slump so I haven’t used much of that time for reading…

I’m currently reading Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and I’m enjoying it, but it’s taking me a while to get through it. I also started Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan the other day and I’m halfway through and it’s good so far.

22299763   26804769   if-i-was-your-girl   asidescended-highres


 

What do you plan on reading in January?

 

13 thoughts on “December 2016 Wrap-Up & January 2017 TBR

  1. Looks like your December was pretty successful! I read Cress in December and The Rose Society in December! I gave them some pretty high ratings, too. I thought they were very engaging books, so I’m glad that you liked them as well! I’ve gotta get my hands on Perks. I watched the movie but haven’t read the book just yet. I loved Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. I hope that you end up loving CK in the end! Happy reading 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, my December was pretty good 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed Cress and The Rose Society, I’m really loving both of those series at the moment. And Perks is a wonderful book, but I haven’t seen the movie so I can’t really compare them. I just recently finished Crooked Kingdom and I did really love it, but I am kinda sad that that series is over now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I am too! I loved all those characters so much. I’m really hoping for some spinoffs. Will you be reviewing Crooked Kingdom soon? I’m excited to see what you thought of it (and the ending) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve ordered Cress from the library and I’m super excited to continue reading the series. I finished Cinder and Scarlet pretty quick (although there was a huge gap between them for some reason, I had so many books going on) – also, Perks of Being a Wallflower is great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really really really want to start the Lunar Chronicles. I read Meyer’s “Heartless” at the end of December and I was seriously so obsessed with it. I loved her writing. I like your IG posts and the fact that you put them in your wrap up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

