My Favourite Books of 2016

It’s finally that time to talk about my favourite books I’ve read this year! I’ve read a pretty amazing 67 books this year so I had a good selection to chose from.

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, lots of these books might be obvious choices as I’ve raved about them lots before. And this list isn’t in any particular order. It would be very difficult for me to rank these books because I loved them all so much!


25494343Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I doubt it’s a surprise to everyone that Lady Midnight is on this list. I love the Shadowhunters world so I knew, before I even read it, that I would love this book. Cassandra Clare’s writing has improved so much since her first series and this book was so much fun to read. I love all the new characters that are introduced, Emma Carstairs is wonderful, and the return of some old favourites. I read this right when it was released in March and it still sticks out in my mind.


13206828Cress by Marissa Meyer

I started reading The Lunar Chronicles this year and I thought Cinder was pretty good and then Scarlet was great. But this book was amazing! Each book in this series is better than the last and I ended up reading this 550 page book in like 3 days (which is pretty damn quick for me). This series puts such a unique twist on fairy tales and has an amazing cast of characters and I can’t wait to read Winter as soon as possible.


cvodryjw8ais5hzA Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

I received an ARC of this book and it isn’t actually released until 2017 but I adored it so I’m adding it to this list anyway! This was a really cute contemporary. Steffi, the main character, suffers from selective mutism and I found her such a relatable protagonist. This book portrays anxiety in a realistic way as well showing the awkwardness of starting a new relationship. I loved that this book had a positive representation of therapy and medication for treating mental illness, as that’s something I haven’t read much about.


61kwchfgrgl-_sx329_bo1204203200_The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

This was such an amazing story! I read this so quickly and I enjoyed every second of it. It has very diverse characters and I love how the story was not only told from the main characters points of view but also from the view of (seemingly) random people around them. The romance in this book does occur very quickly, which is something that normally annoys me, however it was written in such a realistic way that I didn’t mind.


the-young-elites-marie-luThe Young Elites by Marie Lu

I’d seen this book around but I didn’t know much about it. But I’m really glad I went into this book knowing next to nothing because I adored this story! It was such a welcome surprise. It’s dark and edgy with a very an intriguing cast of characters. I loved how Marie Lu turned a lot of typical YA tropes on their heads, resulting in a unpredicatable and entertaining story. I read the first two books in this trilogy this year but I preferred this one, slightly, to the second one.


9781785652745This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

There were so many things I loved about this book! I love the detail that went into creating the story and the world. I loved the two main characters and their friendship and I thought it was great that this book contained no romance. This is the first Victoria Schwab book I’ve read. And she’s an author who I’ve heard lots of great things about, and I’m super excited to read more of her work.


heartless_book_cover_-_p_-_2016Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This was one of my most anticipated releases of the year as it’s a Alice in Wonderland retelling focusing on the Queen of Hearts. I’m so happy it lived up to all my expectations. Marissa Meyer is such an amazing author and she did an amazing job of bringing this world to life.This book made me feel so many things and ultimately broke my heart but I adored it.


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo9781627792127

Of course Six of Crows is on my list. How could I not love this book? It was full of action and has the most amazing, diverse cast of characters I’ve ever read about. I love morally grey characters so it’s no surprise that I loved these guys. This book is everything I could’ve wanted and more, it totally lives up to all the hype surrounding it. I’m reading Crooked Kingdom at the moment and loving it and it would probably have appeared on this list, also, if I’d finished it in time.


acomaf-uk-coverA Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

After not being overly impressed by A Court of Thorns of Roses, I was surprised by this book. This book was such a step up from the first one and I had a lot of fun reading it. I sometimes struggle getting through Sarah J Maas’ books because they’re so dense but I didn’t have much trouble getting through this one. It was a very addictive and entertaining story.


28356624Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

This was a really great book. I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing and I was super excited to read her first fantasy book. I think she did a really great job creating this world and poking fun at the Chosen One trope. I thought the magic system in this book was unique and I loved how Simon and Baz’s relationship developed over the course of this story.


What were your favourite books that you read in 2016?

9 thoughts on “My Favourite Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

