Pre-Christmas Book Haul

My plan was to take all my books back to the library so over the Christmas holiday I could reread Harry Potter and get to some books that have been gathering dust on my eReader for awhile.

But, whilst taking my books back to the library, I made the mistake of looking at the other books which were there. And then I couldn’t stop myself and I had to pick some up and now I’m making this post.

So this is a quick book haul of some library books as well as a few ARCs that I need to get to as soon as possible.

 

Library Books


22299763Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I noticed this book just when I was leaving the library, and when I saw it I knew I had to have it! So, I went back and grabbed it. I’m sure you guys know what this book is about, it’s the second book in the Six of Crows duology. I loved the first book, especially the diverse cast of characters and I’m so excited to know how the story ends. I’ve just started reading this but I’m not very far through yet. Hopefully, I’ll finish it in the next week or so.


if-i-was-your-girlIf I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone. And then she meets Grant Everett who is open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she yearns to share with Grant everything about herself. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.

I’m really looking forward to reading this. It’s a story about a transgender girl and is also written by a transgender woman. I haven’t read any books featuring transgender characters before so I think this one is going to be very interesting and enlightening.


william-ritter-jackabyJackaby by William Ritter

Newly arrived in New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain it’s a nonhuman creature.

This is a historical fiction story which is something I don’t read enough of. Plus, it also has fantasy elements which sounds great. It has a beautiful cover and has been compared to Doctor Who and Sherlock, so that was enough to convince me to pick it up.


asidescended-highresAs I Descended by Robin Talley

Maria and Lily are their school’s ultimate power couple. Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey. Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word. But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything to make their dreams come true. When feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.

All I know about this book is that it’s a retelling of Macbeth featuring a lesbian couple and I think there’s some witch-y stuff going on. It sounds really interesting and I’m hoping it’s going to be a dark and mysterious read.


25365584The Graces by Laure Eve

Just like everybody else in her small town, River is obsessed with the Graces. And just like everybody else, she’s been seduced by their wealth, their exclusivity, their beauty and their glamour. Perhaps even their magic. But unlike everybody else, River knows exactly what she’s doing. Doesn’t she?

I’ve seen this book around but I don’t know loads about it. I think it also involves witches. But, I mainly just picked this up because of the cover…

 

 

ARCs


51iqs7wg3sl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Transit by Rachel Cusk

In the wake of family collapse, a writer and her two young sons move to London. The process of upheaval is the catalyst for a number of transitions—personal, moral, artistic, practical—as she endeavors to construct a new reality. In the city she is made to confront aspects of living she has avoided, and to consider questions of vulnerability and power, death and renewal, in what becomes her struggle to reattach herself to, and believe in, life.

Embarrassingly, I don’t even remember requesting this on Netgalley which is really bad of me. This is an adult novel, which is something I don’t usually read and I was really unsure of it at first. But, I started reading it a few days ago and I finished it today, and I enjoyed more than I thought I would.


26804769Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan

Adrift in space with nothing to hold on to but each other, Carys and Max can’t help but look back at the well-ordered world they have left behind – at the rules they couldn’t reconcile themselves to, and a life to which they might now never return. For in a world where love is banned, what happens when you find it?

I was kinda attracted to this book because of the cover, it’s so beautiful! I’m hoping this is going to be a moving sci-fi, romance book. I have a feeling it’s going to be sad and might possibly break my heart.


Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan513hoits6tl-sx316

To Andy and his parents, it looks like any other carnival: creaking ghost train, rusty rollercoaster and circus performers. But of course it isn’t. Drawn to the hall of mirrors, Andy enters and is hypnotised by the many selves staring back at him. Sometime later, one of those selves walks out rejoins his parents – leaving Andy trapped inside the glass, transported to a world where the laws of gravity are meaningless and time performs acrobatic tricks. And now an identical stranger inhabits Andy’s life as mysterious events start unfolding in their Irish coastal town…

I’m all for mysterious carnival themed books. And this one sounds interesting so I’m really looking forward to reading it.


 

 

2 thoughts on “Pre-Christmas Book Haul

  1. Oooh, I love the cover of the graces! My favourite is the US one though, it really gives the whole books a more ‘witchy’ vibe in my opinion. The UK is one super pretty as well, although I’m not all too sure what it’s trying to represent. I’m going to be on the search for it though, the story sounds super interesting!

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted GIRLS WITH GORGEOUS DRESSES | BOOKS I DNF

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

