Least Favourite Books I’ve Read in 2016

This post could be controversial and possibly offend some people so I’m going to say sorry in advance. This is just my opinion. I didn’t like these books but it’s completely cool if you guys did. And even though I didn’t enjoy these books, none of these books were completely terrible. But they definitely weren’t for me.

This list actually turned out to be shorter than I thought it would be. I’ve had a great reading year and I was surprised by how many of the books I read this year that I disliked, because it turned out there weren’t many! I don’t like being negative on this blog but I’m not going to love every book I read. And, don’t worry, I will have a list of my favourite books from this year coming up soon.


tumblr_lj5pt2p5er1qizjado1_400Fallen by Lauren Kate

I knew this book had lots of bad reviews but, despite this, I was kinda interested in reading it. Even if a book has low ratings, I still like to decided for myself whether it’s any good. And I can pretty confidently say that the reviews for this one were right! This book was bad. There wasn’t much plot so the book dragged most of the time and Luce, the main character, was flat and boring. Also, Daniel, her love interest, was horrible. He was rude to her all the time and I didn’t really like that.

2.5/5 stars


416-3n8l-wl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Bad Girls Don’t Die

To be fair, this book is a horror book and I don’t really enjoy horror so perhaps it’s not a massive surprise that I didn’t like this. But, for a horror book, nothing particularly scary happened. I’m someone who’s terrified easily but all the paranormal events going on this book were just so predictable that I wasn’t scared at all. Plus, I found the ending lacking, as it was rushed and I didn’t think it did a great job of wrapping up the book.

2.5/5 stars


panic-lauren-oliverPanic by Lauren Oliver

This is probably the least worst book on this list (if that makes sense), I enjoyed it the most out of these but it still wasn’t great. My main issue is that the blurb built it up to be really dramatic and intense but it wasn’t. The whole premise of this legendary high-stakes game that features in this book kind of came across as unrealistic. Plus, none of the characters were relatable or interesting.

3/5 stars


12558285Splintered by A.G. Howard

I had many issues with this book. The main issue was Jeb, the best friend and love interest of the main character Alyssa. He was very possessive and had no respect for Alyssa and it was so frustrating reading about him. Then there’s the sensationalisation of the mental health issues that Alyssa’s mother suffers from, which was not ok. And the potrayal of nurses as being heartless people who just like to sedate patients and then leave them isolated, which I also didn’t appreciate.

2/5 stars


me-before-youMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

When I first read this book I fairly enjoyed it actually, it was a quick read for me and I quite enjoyed the writing style. But then, looking back on it a few days later, I started noticing some issues. The first was the ableism in this book and how this novel portrays disabled people as hopeless, which I don’t believe is right. Plus, I found most of the characters in this book uninteresting and I didn’t end up caring for any of them.

2.5/5 stars


What are your least favourite books that you read in 2016?

4 thoughts on “Least Favourite Books I’ve Read in 2016

  1. I’ve seen a lot of love in the past for Splintered but never picked it up myself because I didn’t like the cover haha! But after reading your thoughts on it I’m definitely going to steer clear, I hate it when mental illness is sensationalised for plot, it’s so disrespectful. And a possessive love interest too makes it even worse. The same goes for Me Before You, probably going to steer clear of that too if there’s ableism. Thanks for bringing these to my attention!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed Fallen but not enough to read the second, I can see why people didn’t like it. I’ve started Splintered a few times but never managed to fini9sh it. Not read any of the other books on your list. Shame you didn’t enjoy them, but not everyone can like each book, if you like every book you read, you are very lucky. The worst book I read (of the top of my head) was Rebel of the sands. I just found it boring and not as good as it could be. Great post 😀 You shouldn’t feel bad for giving bad reviews, I personally think it can be helpful to books, if a book has only good reviews I am less likely to read it than if it has some bad ones too. It just feels too fake for only good reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you haven’t been able to get into Splintered yet, then I wouldn’t bother trying again, lol. I liked Rebel of the Sands, it wasn’t the most unique book I’ve ever read but I still enjoyed it. But I can understand why you might not of done. And I know what you mean, we can’t all love anything and it’s good to have a bit of variety when it comes to book opinions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

