Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer


13206828

Title: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Published: 4th February 2014
Rating: 5/5 stars

Find on: Goodreads | Amazon | Bookdepository

SummaryCinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth. Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped who’s been trapped on a satellite since childhood and is an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana. When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

*This review contains spoiler for earlier books in the series!

 

Review:

I was really looking forward to reading Cress, the third book in the Lunar Chronicles. It’s been a while since I read Scarlet but I still found it easy to involve myself in this world and its characters. I’m happy to say that this book lived up to all of my expectations, featuring plenty of romance, adventure and a side of humour. If you loved the first two books in this The Lunar Chronicles, you’ll love this one also.

Each book in the series has introduced us to new characters so meeting the wonderful Cress was no surprise. And in each book I’ve fallen in love with the newest additions to the cast and this one was no different. Cress is a dreamer, she come’s across as naive and romance obsessed but this isn’t unrealistic as she’s spent years isolated on a satellite orbiting the earth. She’s also a talented hacker and ultimately made for a fun and loveable character. It’s safe to say she’s my current favourite of out the gang in this series, closely followed by Captain Thorne (who I’m slightly in love with).

We saw more of Queen Levena in this book and she finds way to be more evil than I thought possible. I’m still curious as to what her motives are and why she is so cruel. She’s a truly unlikable character who shows no sign of redeeming herself.

I loved the romance in this book – with Cress’ crush on Captain Thorne, Wolf’s adoration of Scarlet and Cinder’s feelings towards Kai. All of the relationships felt natural and unforced. I especially loved Cress’ desire to experience a dramatic love like she’s only seen in Earthern movies, causing her to fall head-over-heels for the handsome Captian Thorne.


“I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”


We’re also introduced to some new locations in this novel, including a desert African town. Everything was beautifully described to the point where I could almost feel the sand between my toes. We also saw a bit more of the planet Luna and I’m hoping we’ll get to see even more of this mysterious planet in the next book.

The stakes are high in this story with Cinder and her crew attempting to prevent the evil Queen Levana taking over the Earth. The plot was well paced from an intense rescue mission in the beginning of the story until the final pages. There was a possibility of this book becoming serious with the planet under serious threat. But, with friendly banter between the main characters and Captain Thorne throwing jokes around whenever he had the chance, it didn’t lose it’s enjoyable touch.

I love Marissa Meyer’s writing, I’m not sure what it is about it that makes it so easy to read. This is a 550 page book but I was happily able to read it in a few days.

Although I enjoy sci-fi, it’s not my favourite genre. However this series has impressed me so far. Each novel continues to get better and better and I didn’t expect to love these books so much. I’m definitely looking forward to reading Winter as soon as possible.

One thought on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

