Most Anticipated Releases of 2017

It’s December so it’s finally acceptable for me to be thinking about releases for next year. It’s not like I have loads of books from this year left to read… Except I totally do. But, oh well. A few of these books that I’m excited for are continuations of series I’ve started and loved. There are so many great books being released next year and I’m super excited to get my hands on them at some point.

*I’ve not included blurbs for books that are a continuation of a series (because spoilers) but I have for stand-alones and first books in series.

 


Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)1.) Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

I’m probably most excited for the release of this book next year! I loved Lady Midnight and I’m really interested to see how this series continues, seeing as Lady Midnight ended in a very interesting way. The cover is gorgeous so I really can’t wait for this!

Expected Release: 23rd May


A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)2.) A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

This is the third book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series. I loved how the previous book ended and I’m enjoying this series more than Maas’ Throne of Glass series at the moment. This book has the potential to be amazing.

Expected Release: 2nd May

 


3.) Throne of Glass Book 6 by Sarah J Maas

I’m sad that there’s no title for this book yet but it’s still a while until it’s going to be released so that’s understandable. Even though I didn’t enjoy the previous book in this series so much, I am excited for this one. This will be the sixth and final book in the series. I think I’m more looking forward to finally finishing this series then I am the actual story. I don’t know if that makes sense. But I’m curious as to how everything’s going to be tied up when this ends.

Expected Release: September


cvodryjw8ais5hz4.) A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

I received an ARC copy of this book so I’ve actually already it… And I know I’ve talked about it a lot recently, but I really enjoyed it! And I can’t wait to get my hands on a physical copy. It’s the kind of book I want a physical copy of so I can highlight my favourite quotes because there were a lot of things I loved in this story.

Expected Release: 12th January


Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2)5.) Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

This is second and final book in the Monsters of Verity duology. The first book in this series, This Savage Song, is one of my favourite books of this year so obviously I’m looking forward to this book. Plus, the cover is beautiful which is always a good thing!

Expected Release: 13th June

 


Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)6.) Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

The aftermath of a war between gods and men, a mysterious city stripped of its name, a mythic hero with blood on his hands, a young librarian with a singular dream, a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled, alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

This book intrigues me so much and I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, also by Laini Taylor, so I’m pretty sure I’ll love this too. I understand the publication date has been pushed back several times which is frustrating but hopefully it will be released at some point next year.

Expected Release: 28th March


History Is All You Left Me7.) History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course. To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But he continues to lose himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices. If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

I think this book is going to be wonderful but heartbreaking. I’ve been wanting to read one of Adam Silvera’s books for the longest time and I haven’t got around to it yet. But this book sounds amazing and hopefully I’ll be motivated to pick up some of Silvera’s other works at some point.

Expected Release: 17th January


314507528.) Because You Love to Hate Me by Various Authors

These are stories of vengeance, of defiance, of rage. They are stories of pain, of heartbreak, of sorrow. But don’t expect a circle of hands. Leave it to the heroes to help the world; villains just want to rule the world. We love to hate them and they hate to be loved, if only because being hated frees them from having to be good.

This is an anthology collaboration between thirteen great YA authors and thirteen booktubers. I love watching booktube so I’m really looking forward to how these stories turn out. And some of my favourite authors are involved in this such as Marissa Meyer, Victoria Schwab and Nicola Yoon.

Expected Release: 11th July


278832149.) Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance. Caraval is magic, mystery, adventure. And for Scarlett and her sister, Tella, it represents an escape from their abusive father. When the sisters’ invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But then Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show’s mastermind organiser. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is an elaborate performance. But she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

This book sounds dark and mysterious, which are two things I love in a story, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy this. I’ve heard lots of great things from people who’ve already read this so I’m definitely looking forward to it’s release!

Expected Release: 31st January


What 2017 books are you looking forward to?

 

4 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases of 2017

Leave a Reply

