Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard


51791fac06ad83b1f20c93afe76b15dbe0df3b81Title: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Published: 9th February 2016
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Summary: Mare Barrow’s blood is red, the colour of common folk, but her Silver ability – the power to control lightning – has turned her into a weapon that the Silver court will do anything to destroy. With no one left to trust, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join the uprising. But mare is treading a deadly path. Will she shatter under the weight of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her for ever?

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookdepository

This review contains spoiler for earlier books in the series!

Review:

Perhaps it was a mistake starting this so long after reading the first book in this series. It’s been a while since I read Red Queen and as a result it took me a while to get into this book. The story began where the previous book left off, full of action which was great but also confusing. Especially if you’re like me and can’t remember much from the first book (which is my own fault, to be honest).

In this novel, our main protagonist Mare has changed a lot. She’s hardened and become cruel – struggling between right and wrong. Although I understand this, as she battled through many difficult events in the first book, it was still frustrating. Mare seemed to be treading the fine line between hero and anti-hero but she didn’t really excel at being either. A lot of the novel was focused on Mare being the special lightning girl but I still can’t determine what made her so unique, there are many others like her who are just as powerful, if not more so.

Cal was also picking up his personal pieces from the tragedy of the previous book. He finds himself to be alone and antagonised by the people he meets – despite only ever trying to help. He wasn’t as strong a character as he could’ve been, he felt a bit flat. Similarly to lots of other characters, more could’ve been explored surrounding his thoughts and feelings.


“No one is born evil, just like no one is born alone. They become that way, through choice and circumstance.”


I found Maven the most interesting out of the main players in this book, although he was very much in the background of the story. I was never quite sure what he might be scheming or, perhaps more importantly, what his motives were.

Many new characters were introduced in this story, so many that I couldn’t really keep up with who was who. They lacked unique identities which was disappointing and confusing.

Aveyard’s writing is great, and it was lovely exploring more locations in this vast world. The story was full of action right from the get go – there was no easing in to the harshness of the characters’ existence. But, starting the book off so strong made the middle section less engaging. Things lacked a  certain spark and the plot became repetitive. The story wasn’t as gripping as the first book and lacked originality. The events that occurred were predictable. However, I did love the ending as it was a great cliffhanger to finish the book on. 

Although there were some aspects I liked about this novel, such as the setting and the exciting action scenes, there wasn’t anything that I loved. The ending was great so I am intrigued enough to finish the series when the final book is released. It’s common for the middle book in a trilogy to not be the best so I’m hoping the last book will be an improvement on this one.

12 thoughts on “Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

      1. Me too! I went down from 36 to 20 so I’m getting there…a batch is due tomorrow and I’m going to Hunger Games my books again. I’ll let go of the ones that don’t get a lot of attention right now, and keep the New Releases. Then when those are read, I’ll go back for the older ones and save them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Very good! That’s what I’m going for. Just whittling the pile down: most of the ones I checked out I can always go back for. It’s the newer ones that I really should focus on. Once I get those done, I think I’m going to keep myself at a five book max. Otherwise it’s just too much, you know?

        Like

Leave a Reply

