Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is characters you used to love but don’t anymore.

A lot of my views on characters I used to love have changed over the years, as I’ve grown older and matured. There are characters that I used to love but who I now realise are quite problematic so I no longer like them as much as I used to (if at all).

 


81tpvw3nbvl1.) Will from The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

When I first read this series, I loved Will. He’s got that mysterious, dark thing going on which I used to like. But, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realised that some of the things he did over the course of this series were not ok. He was rude to Tessa on numerous occasions which wasn’t nice, even if he did have his reasons. I don’t completely dislike him yet. I haven’t read this series in ages so I’d have to read the books again to properly make my mind up about Will Herondale.


hungergamescover2.) Gale from The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

I used to love Gale, I can’t completely remember why. When I first read these books, I wanted Gale and Katniss to end up together. I think it was because I found Peeta a bit boring at the start of the series. But, then Gale did something in the last book which I didn’t agree with at all. And I stopped liking him after that. Then I started disliking him even more after watching the films.


divergent_book_by_veronica_roth_us_hardcover_20113.) Four from The Divergent series by Veronica Roth

Four is a character who I enjoyed reading about in the first book of the Divergent trilogy. But, like a lot of things in this series, his character kind of went downhill in the second book. I didn’t like his attitude or his decisions in the second book. I’ve mentioned many times before that I’ve not finished this series, so I can’t comment on what he’s like in the final book. However, from what I’ve heard, he doesn’t improve.


shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x10244.) Mal from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Mal is another character who I enjoyed reading about at the start of the trilogy, he annoyed me slightly but he was still likable. As the series progressed, he became more and more frustrating. I didn’t like the way he treated Alina, someone he was supposed to be very close to. By the end of this series, there were so many other great characters that I loved that Mal didn’t really cut it anymore.


72486_original5.) Rowan from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas

I liked Rowan in Heir of Fire, loved him in Queen of Shadows and now, after reading Empire of Storms, I’ve grown indifferent to him. He’s starting to become unlikable and annoying, especially regarding Celaena. I’m tired of his overprotective and territorial fae behaviour. He acts so righteous and it’s starting to get on my nerves.


What characters did you use to love but don’t anymore?

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

  1. Completely agree with you on Will and Mal. I actually never really enjoyed Will in the beginning because of his attitude towards Tessa and he was pretty cold. I will always be Team Jem.

    Mal is another one that just like you I enjoyed in the beginning of the series but then as the series progressed, his attitude was just bad. I didn’t like the way he treated Alina and I also thought he wasn’t a good person for Alina to have “forever” with.

    Great post =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely on the same page as you in regards to Will and Mal, though I didn’t like Mal from the very beginning. Something about the whole “didn’t know what I had until it was gone” trope just really bothers me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

