Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

61kwchfgrgl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Title: The Sun is Also a Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Published: 1st November 2016 (US), 3rd November 2016 (UK)
Genre: Contemporary, romance
Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary: Natasha is a girl who believes in science and facts. She’s definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when her family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Daniel has always been the good son, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when he sees her, he forgets about all that. 

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookdepository

*I recieved a free eARC of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

I really enjoyed this story. I sometimes find it difficult to get involved in characters in contemporary novels but I quickly found myself connecting to the characters in this book.

This story is told from the perspective of the two main characters, Natasha and Daniel. Natasha is an immigrant, originally from Jamaica, who is about to be deported from America. She’s a highly intelligent character who believes in facts and logic and I loved reading about her. On her last day in America, she’s determined to try and turn things around and find a way to stay. This leads to her running into Daniel, who’s a poet and a dreamer. He’s a Korean-American who’s trying to live up to the expectations of his parents, even though he wishes to do something different.

Strangely, although these characters contrast each other, their relationship worked so well. They complemented and challenged each other and it was interesting watching both of them grow, develop and begin to consider alternative ideas. 

Somehow, I saw a bit of myself in both of these characters and I think that helped me enjoy this book even more. I related to them and was able to understand some of struggles they went through.


“You should never take long shots. Better to study the odds and take the probable shot. However, if the long shot is your only shot, then you have to take it.”


This novel was written in a unique way and I adored Nicola Yoon’s writing, as it flowed so well. This story is primarily told through the eyes of Natasha and Daniel. However, we do get to read from the point of views of various other characters, including minor characters who you might ordinarily overlook.

The plot follows Natasha and Daniel’s romance as it develops over the course of a day. Now, this is something I usually dislike; I’m not a fan of instant romance. However, in this novel, I feel like it was so well done that I did enjoy it. Both the main characters are so fleshed out that when they crossed paths and started talking it felt real. I liked that Daniel was aware of the fact that he was falling for Natasha quickly, even though she was focused on the science of it all.

So much happens in this book, that it’s strange to think the majority of it occurs on just one day. This is a book I read very quickly and I grew attached to the characters by the end of it. I love that this book contains a diverse cast of characters and wasn’t afraid to focus on important topics, such as racism.

I’m so glad I got the chance to read this book because it was such a wonderful experience. I highly recommend you check out this book, especially if you’re a fan of romance.

 

8 thoughts on “Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

