Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Spooky Settings

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is our favourite spooky book settings. I don’t read many spooky books, so it was difficult for me to come up with places for this list. A couple of these locations are spooky in a more mystical way or a more terrified for your life kind of way rather than just in a creepy kind of way. I don’t know if that makes sense but hopefully you’ll understand what I mean when you read my choices.

 


721931.) The Forbidden Forest from the Harry Potter series

The Forbidden forest lies on the outskirts of the Hogwarts grounds and is very dark and mysterious. This forest has always creeped me out and I still can’t believe Harry explored it within his first year. So many terrible things occurred in this forest over the course of the series. It’s a miracle that more Hogwarts students didn’t get lost or hurt in the Forbidden forest over the years.

 


209572762.) The Maze from The Maze Runner series

I personally find the Maze to be the scariest thing in the entire series. The massive walls, the grievers, the threat of being trapped in there and killed. It terrified me and I don’t think I would’ve coped waking up in the Glade and living next door to that thing. Plus, after seeing the Maze in the film I became even more terrified.

 


the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater3.) Cabeswater from The Raven Cycle series

I actually love Cabeswater. Yet, it’s a magical place surrounded in mystery which makes it kind of scary. The speaking trees, the way time doesn’t work and the events that occurred there make it spooky. But I will admit this is my favourite fictional forest and I’m as attached to it as I am to all the characters in this series.

 


2566834.) The Silent City from the Mortal Instruments series

This is the spookiest location in the series for me. I think it’s the mix of the Silent Brothers who I find creepy and the the fact that the lower levels are the graves of dead shadowhunters. And then it gets even worse because below that is the prisons, which sound terrifying to be honest. I would definitely stay away from the Silent City at all costs!

 


hungergamescover5.) The Arena from the Hunger Games series

The Hunger Games arena in this series wouldn’t be so scary if it didn’t involve teenagers fighting each other to the death in it. But it does. And that is why it terrifies me. The whole concept of the Hunger Games scares me but this is where it takes place. The fact that the Gamemakers mess with what’s going on in the arena so much makes it even worse.

 


 

What book settings do you think are the spookiest?

 

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Spooky Settings

  1. I just read another post that said The Silent City and I definitely agree, it’s very spooky and eerie. Although I didn’t enjoy The Maze Runner, I agree that the maze is definitely spooky especially with those things living inside of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

