Blogger Recognition Award


Another tag! The lovely Beth @readingeverynight nominated me to do this a while ago and I’m finally getting around to doing it! Thank you for tagging me and sorry for the delay!

blogger-recognition-award

Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

 

How My Blog Started:

My blog is fairly new, I started it about two months ago in July. I’ve been a book lover for most of my life and although I’ve had a couple of friends who enjoyed reading, none of us ever really discussed what we had read to each other. Now, most of my friends have moved on to other things in life and I’m no longer able to speak to them as much as I’d like. I found I had so many thoughts and feelings about all the books I read and no one to share them with.

Then I came across the booktube community. I love watching booktubers and there are so many amazing booktubers out there who I love to keep up to date with. This introduced me to the amazing and enthusiastic book community online. As a result of this, I found myself stumbling onto book blogs and I’d spend hours browsing through them. I read lots of amazing posts and I decided I wanted to join in the discussion to voice my own opinions and interact with others.

Finally, I created this blog. This was months and months before posting my first post because I found myself lingering over the publish button of my first post for a long time. It took a while for me to finally find the courage to publish my first post. But eventually I did and somehow I’m still here.

I’m so proud of myself for sticking with this blog as I have a bad habit of starting projects and giving up after a day. I’m also very thankful to everyone who’s liked and commented on my posts. It really means a lot to me.

 

Tips:

1. ) Be aware that blogging will take time. I think some people may start blogging without being aware of just how long it takes to plan, write and format posts. It can take hours to finish a post. Knowing that fact before hand can stop you becoming discouraged. If you start a blog thinking it’s going to be quick and easy to do then you will be disappointed. However, if you love what you’re blogging about this isn’t a problem. I enjoy writing posts and interacting with other people so it doesn’t bother me dedicating my time to it. If you dislike spending lots time on your blog then you might want to take a break or consider why you aren’t enjoying it.

2.) Scheduling is your friend. Decide what days you’re going to post and decide what kind of posts your going to post on these days. This is something I’ve started doing in the past month or so and it’s helped me massively. It gives structure to my blog so I know what I’m doing. Write your posts before the day you plan on posting and use the handy schedule tool so it’s ready to be posted when you want it. There’s nothing worse than trying to write a post the day you want it up because it can end up rushed and full of mistakes. This helps make your blog consistent and minimizes stress.

 

I tag:


 

18 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Great post for this tag! I loved reading the story of how and why you started your blog, and I also love your advice as well! Blogging definitely takes a lot longer than I ever thought it would, and I schedule my posts at least two weeks in advance, can’t say I write them that early but I know what I want to post and when. It definitely helps when it comes to blogging and commenting and everything! 😀

    Like

      1. Honestly whatever reason worked for you is probably a special one you know? I wouldn’t say mine was anything too exciting, I just wanted people to talk to about books!
        I feel like I’ve always been a relatively organised person so that’s definitely helped with this blog, but you’re right it does help enjoy it a little more! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

