Harry Potter Book Tag

I was tagged to do this by @cassiopeiasmoon. Thank you! I haven’t done a Harry Potter themed tag before so I’m really excited to do this!

 

A book you found interesting but would like to rewrite:

17565845

Panic by Lauren Oliver

I found the concept of this book really interesting and I remember reading the blurb and thinking that it sounded like my kind of thing. Then, when I read it it fell flat. The characters were lacking and the plot wasn’t executed as well as it could have been. I’d like to rewrite this to live up to it’s full potential because it could have been a lot better than it was.


 

A first book in a series that got you hooked:

9781785652745

This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

I enjoyed this novel so so much! I loved the writing and the characters were lovely and I really want to learn what’s going to happen next in the series. This was a captivating first novel! I’ve never read anything by Victoria Schwab before but I’m planning on reading more of her works in the future.


 

A book you wish you could have right now:

22299763Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I am so excited for this book’s release! Six of Crows, the first book in this duology, was one of my favourite books of the year. I’m desperate to know what happens to these characters that I’ve fallen in love with. And I’m scared that something terrible is going to happen to someone but I’m hoping there will be a happy ending.


 

A killer book:

hungergamescover

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 

I’m not sure whether this means a book involving killers or an awesome ‘killer’ book. So I’ve decided to chose something that satisfies both those definitions. The Hunger Games involves children fighting to death and is one of most exciting, unique and devastating series I’ve ever read. This will always be one of my favourite series and I’m sure many feel the same way.


 

A book you found confusing:

to-kill-a-mockingbird-cover-1-186x300

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

There are a few reasons I found this book a bit confusing. The first is the writing style. This book is 50 years old so the writing in this story differs a lot from writing in more modern stories. Also, I found the blurb misleading. I was under the impression that this story was going to focus on a lawyer defending a black man in the 1930s however the court case barely appears until the second half of this book. This book was different than what I expected yet I still enjoyed reading it.


Your spirit animal book:

city_of_bones

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I was thinking I should probably pick a book with characters similar to myself or a book with a plot that mirrors something that I have experienced in real life. But I didn’t do that. Instead, I picked City of Bones (and the entire Mortal Instruments series) as a book that best represents me. I believe this book has shaped me in a lot of ways. It has definitely shaped my reading habits. I am obsessed with the characters and the world in this story and I will happily return to them anytime. This book introduced me to the young-adult genre and even though it’s not perfect it will always be one of my favourites.


A dark, twisted book:

13615

Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba

This manga series is very dark. I’m yet to finish all the volumes but what I have read is twisted and exciting. I love how this series challenges the idea of good and evil, blurring the lines between the two. This series highlights the debate on who has the right to punish those who’ve done wrong and has had me questioning my own morals.


 

A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is:

acomaf-uk-cover

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

The first book in this series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, was mostly underwhelming. The end of the book was amazing but the first portion was very slow-moving. However, this book was a massive step up from the first book. The character and world development in this book was amazing. It was full of action and was faster-paced than the previous book.


 

Thank you for reading. Do you agree with any of my choices?

 

10 thoughts on “Harry Potter Book Tag

  1. Literally giggled when I read what you wrote about The Hunger Games. I also thought it was a killer book lol. I couldn’t agree with you more with This Savage Song, Crooked Kingdom, and ACOMAF! ACOMAF was my biggest surprise because like you said the first book was pretty slow but wow that second book took off flying. Crooked Kingdom is coming out soon and I can’t wait!

    Like

    1. Haha. I wasn’t really sure what the question meant but I thought THG was an accurate representation either way. ACOMAF was amazing! I loved every second of it and even though it’s a long book, I kinda wish it was longer lol. I’m super excited for Crooked Kingdom! It’s being released so soon!

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you about Death Note. I saw the anime before I read the manga, and I felt completely the same way as you. You do understand the bad guy’s logic and that makes it scary. Such a good manga and anime. I read somewhere Netflix has bought the rights so we might get a live action tv-series. Hopefully it’ll be better than the movies that already exist. I mean, it’s Netflix, have they created anything bad this far?

    Like

    1. I’ve watched some of the anime but I never finished it. It’s so strange seeing it from Light’s perspective and I start wondering what I would do in that situation. Hopefully a live-action version will be good. I always worry because there have been so many bad adaptations of anime/manga to live-action and I wouldn’t want it to be ruined. But Netflix haven’t created anything bad yet so maybe…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

