August Wrap-Up & September TBR

Time flies by so quickly! I can’t believe summer is over and autumn has began. I’m returning to college next week, unfortunately, but I’m hoping that won’t affect my reading too much. I posted some tips about how to read more during school time here.

Another month means another wrap-up. I’ve read a total of 8 books in August which is a lot for me. I’m sad I won’t be able to read as much this month.

What I Read in August:

13619

Volume 2 & 3 of Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba. I’m really loving this manga series. It’s got a unique plot and intriguing characters and the stakes keep on rising. I’m dying to see how this series progresses, I have a feeling it’s going to get more and more interesting. I highly recommend you check this series out, even if you’re not usually a manga fan. It’s been so much fun to read!

Review ★★★★★


9781627792127Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I started reading this book in July but finished it at the beginning of the month. This is one of my favourite books so far this year! I loved the characters so much. It has an action-packed and intriguing plot and I can’t wait to read the next book, Crooked Kingdom, which is being released this month.

Review ★★★★★


17378527

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. This is the final book in the Raven Cycle series. I’ve grown attached to the characters and world in this series and it’s sad to say goodbye to them. However, Maggie has revealed that she’s planning to write a spin-off series for Ronan. I was a bit disappointed with some of the things that happened in this book but overall it was a good ending to a wonderful series.

Review ★★★★✰


27170764Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff. This is a book I stumbled upon by chance and ended up liking a lot. It’s not a long story yet it carries a lot of impact. The setting and traditions explored in this book are interesting and I’m hoping to explore the world further when the next book is published. I encourage you to check this book out if you haven’t already.

Review ★★★★✰


13455782Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I finally gave in to reading this book after having loads of people recommending it me. This book wasn’t perfect but I still enjoyed it. I have a few issues with the characters and the lack of plot in this story but I liked Tahereh Mafi’s writing style. I can’t wait to continue and finish this series as I’m curious as to how this story will proceed.

Review ★★★★✰


20754848Breaking Rules by Tracie Puckett. I finally got an eReader this month so I kinda went on a downloading spree of all the free books on the eBook store. This book was one of them. Although this story had a lot of issues with the plot and characters, I still enjoyed it. I found myself compelled to finish it but I’m sad this story is going to be dragged out in three books.

Review  ★★★✰✰


9781785652745This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab. I finished this book yesterday and I loved it! It was exciting and full of action. I loved the the two main protagonists, Kate and August, so much as they’re both complicated, intriguing characters. It was nice reading a YA novel without any romance. Now I have to wait a year for the next book to be released, I don’t know how I’m going to cope.

Review ★★★★★


What Happened in August:

I posted quite a bit during in August, although I did go through a slow patch in the middle of the month. I’m happy to be adding more and more content to this blog and I’m really happy that people seem to be enjoying it.

Also I changed my blog’s theme this month. I’d love to say this was because I disliked my other theme but it wasn’t. I liked my other theme but for some reason the sharing/likes buttons weren’t appearing at the bottom of each post. As a result I changed my theme to this one, which I do like, but it took a lot of time editing things to how I wanted them.

Check out this month’s posts:

July Wrap-Up & August TBR | Pokemon GO Book Tag | Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Sunshine Blogger Award Part 2 | My Favourite Childhood Books | Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater | Follow Me On Bloglovin | T5W: Books I Want to Read Before the End of the Year | Review: Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff  | 7 Tips to Read More During School | T5W: Books I’ll Never Read


What I Want to Read in September:

There are a few books that I currently have out of the library that I plan to read this month which are: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, The Loneliness of Distant Beings, Ruin & Rising and Volume 4 & 5 of Death Note. I also plan to read some of the many eBooks I recently downloaded.

18166936 25874097 14061957 13616 13617


 

What’s Happening in September:

Have I mentioned that I’m going back to college next week? I think I have but I’m mentioning it again because it’s pretty significant and I’m kinda terrified. Hopefully things will go ok and I will continue being able to read lots and update this blog lots. Wish me luck!

 

12 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up & September TBR

    1. I’ve heard lots of good things about the Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender so I hope I enjoy it as well. Thanks, I am nervous about starting but I’m kinda looking forward to having some structure back to my weeks, so it’s not all bad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

