Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’ll Never Read

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is Books You’ll Never Read. I’m mostly open-minded to what books I’ll read, so I don’t like to write books off and say I’ll never read them.However, there are a few books that I don’t plan on picking up, ever.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)1.) 50 Shades of Grey by E.L James. Do I even need to explain? I hate even mentioning this book on my blog. This book really isn’t my thing. I’ve heard the plot is bad and the writing is bad and I don’t want to waste my time on it ever.

 

 

 

23945_520592274663562_1863331618_n2.) Unhinged – A.G. Howard. I had such high hopes for the first book in this series. It sounded like such a great premise and I love anything Alice in Wonderland related. But the first book, Splintered, was a huge disappointment. It had so many issues and it was boring. I never plan on continuing this series. There’s a part of me that’s curious but I’ve got better things to do with my time. It’s a shame because the covers of these books are beautiful…

 

 

3.) Hunger – Michael Grant. I read the first book in this series, Gone, ages ago. It started out well but I grew bored and the book was a mess of so many things and I ended up speed reading the last 100 pages. I know some people love these books but it’s just not for me unfortunately. Plus, there are 6 books in this series! It’s a long series and I can’t really be bothered with it.

 

 

922505_647337578626481_1844438213_o4.) Allegiant – Veronica Roth. By the time this book was released I  had lost interest in the Divergent series. I already know what happens in this book as a result of being spoiled by friends. Plus, Insurgent wasn’t great and I didn’t like the direction that the story line was taking. So there’s not really much point in me picking this up.

 

 

the-hobbit-book-cover5.) The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkein. I feel so bad including this on a list that also includes 50 Shades of Grey. I’m sorry but let me explain. I want to read this book. But I’ve tried picking it up before and I just couldn’t get into. The writing is way too descriptive and it takes too long for any action to happen. I’m someone who likes fast-paced books and this book isn’t a quick read. I might try and finish it at some point but odds are I’ll never read this book.

 

What books will you never read? Do you agree with any of my choices?

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’ll Never Read

  1. I agree with Grey (not into that kind of book), and I understand The Hobbit (it’s a rough one and I refuse to try)…but I’m surprised about the others.
    I loved Splintered and the series, but that could be just me. The Gone series was recommended to me and I binge-read the entire series! Allegiant: I only read it so I could find out what happened and I crushed on Four big time.
    So I’m surprised…but to each their own, right? We can’t all like the same books! Lol
    Can’t hate on ya for having different tastes: it’s what makes our blogs so interesting! If we ALL LOVED the same books, our blogging would be boring. So thanks for being honest and sharing!

    Like

    1. I found Splintered kind of boring and the characters annoyed me a lot but that’s only my opinion. And I know lots of people who really love the Gone series and I guess it just wasn’t for me. I enjoyed the Divergent series whilst I was reading it but I lost interest and I’ve got so many other books to read that I probably won’t bother finishing it. I crushed on Four a lot as well, haha.
      Thanks, I agree it’s good to have different opinions. Thank you for respecting mine and sharing yours aswell.

      Like

  2. I listened to the first few chapters of 50 Shades as an audiobook and I have never been more uncomfortable in my life! It was so cringe and awful (not to mention downright abusive!). You’re definitely making the right choice not to read it ever!!
    I also did read Allegiant but honestly I lost interest completely and it’s so not worth the time.
    Good call!

    Like

  3. Great post! I have the same feelings with 50 Shades of Grey, I would never ever read that series. And another series that I would never read is Twilight, I know it has received some mixed reviews but vampires aren’t for me. 😅

    Like

Leave a Reply

