Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Want to Read Before the End of the Year

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey. This week’s topic is Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year. There are lots of books I want to read before this year comes to an end but unfortunately I will not be able to get to them all. Here are the Top 5 books that I must read this year.

282605871.) Empire of Storms by Sara J Maas. I’m so so so excited for this book to be released. This is the fifth book in the Throne of Glass series and Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the series, was incredible. It was action-packed and kept me on edge throughout, I’m hoping that this novel can also provide a similar feeling. Each book contains lots of twists and turns with more about the world and the characters constantly being revealed. I’m super excited to involve myself in this universe once again.

 

290581552.) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling. I feel like the only reader on this planet who doesn’t own this book. But I haven’t bought it yet because I’m cheap and although I love Harry Potter, I’m not eager to read this script. I’ve heard varied opinions on this book with some people loving it and some perplexed by the plot. Plus, I’ve heard a few spoilers for events in this book, because spoilers are everywhere, which diminished my excitement a bit. Although I want to acquire this before the year comes to a close to form my own opinions, it’s not a high priority. Now if a book involving the Marauders was released, I would purchase that in a heartbeat.

 

132068283.) Cress & Winter by Marissa Meyer. This series surprised me, I didn’t expect to adore it as much as I do and therefore I need to read the final two books as soon as possible (even though Winter is massive and intimidates me). I love the diverse characters and the crazy world and the gorgeous writing. I’m cursing myself for not reading this series earlier because it has become one of my favourites. I’m not usually a fan of sci-fi novels but my views have changed as a result of reading these novels.

 

222997634.) Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. Words can not even begin to explain how much I enjoyed Six of Crows, the first book in this duology by Leigh Bardugo. My favourite collection of characters are found in this book. I adore Kaz, Inej, Nina, Wylan, Jesper and Matthias. Despite them being so different from one another and being criminals. The first book was beautifully written and thrilling throughout, I’m sure the second book will deliver as well. Plus, I want to find how the group dynamics develops and how the story concludes for each character. I’m kinda terrified that someone is going to die but I’m crossing my fingers in the hope that no one will.

 

97811019055555.) The Martian by Andy Weir. I included this book in my August TBR but I now highly doubt I’m actually going to read it this month. I borrowed lots of books from the library which I tend to prioritise reading over books I already own. This story has had lots of great reviews and I’m trying to read more sci-fi novels so I thought this would be ideal to help reach that goal. I am hoping to pick The Martian up at some point this year, otherwise I fear it will be stuck on my TBR forever.

 

14 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Want to Read Before the End of the Year

  1. Ohh these are amazing books. The Lunar Chronicles is an all-time favourite of mine so I hope you love Cress (and Winter when you get around to it). Also even though they haven’t been released yet both Empire of Storms and crooked Kingdom are at the top of my to-read list. I can’t wait to get my hands on them! 😀

    Like

    1. I love the Lunar Chronicles too, it’s quickly becoming one of my favourite series. I can’t wait to finally read the next books. Even though Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom aren’t released yet they’re both being published very soon which is awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

