Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

9781627792127

Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Published: 29th September 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Summary: Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist: Break into the notorious Ice Court, retrieve a hostage and survive long enough to collect his reward.

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository

Review:

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is an intense and imaginative book set in the same world as her previous Grisha Trilogy, but it’s not necessary to have read this series before reading this. I’ve read the first two books in the Grisha trilogy and wasn’t overly impressed, although the world is lovely the characters fell a bit flat for me.

Six of Crows is a completely different story. It’s a massive step up from her previous books and I was hooked from the first line. This book is part of a duology and the next book, Crooked Kingdom, is released on September 27th of this year. I’m super excited to pick it up when it’s published.


“No mourners. No funerals.”


What made this book stand out to me was the amazing cast of characters. The characters are unique and diverse and intriguing. As the story unfolds, small curiosities about the characters are revealed which helps bring them to life. They somehow band together, a group of broken misfits, all trying to complete a seemingly impossible mission. Every character in this novel is different yet I somehow found myself falling in love with all of them. Plus, there are strong females characters with an admirable friendship present in this book which is something I always love to read about.

I love fast-paced, action-packed reads so this book was ideal for me. Right from the start, there is lots going on. This book contains adventure, romance and a bit of mystery, and also has good pacing. You will not able to put this book down; it’s gripping with many twists and turns to keep you guessing until the last page.

One issue I found whilst reading this, which was only apparent for the first one hundred pages or so, was trying to get my head around all the locations and character names featured in this story. I found this a bit confusing at first, as we’re introduced to many new people and places in a world very different from the one we live in. It’s much easier to understand the world in this book if you’ve also read the Grisha Trilogy however, as I previously mentioned, you don’t have to. The universe in this story is well-developed and unique and I soon became engrossed in it.

There’s a lot of hype surrounding this novel but I honestly feel this book lives up to it. If you’re on the fence about picking this book up I recommend you go for it.

4 thoughts on “Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

